Skip to content

Home sweet home

December 30, 2009

There’s no place like home.

And I didn’t even have to click my heels together 3 times to get here.

We’re home.  That’s such a nice sentence.  We spent 10 fun, but tiring, days at my parents’ house, and it feels so nice to be home again.  I missed my cats.  I missed my bed.  And I even missed regular meals with vegetables.  Holidays are great fun, but we always eat badly –  in the very best, most delicious way.  You know what I mean?

Our kids got us up at 5 a.m. Christmas morning and tore through all their presents in no time.  With 16 of us opening gifts, there was an enormous pile of torn wrapping paper and presents all over the place.  (Bea and I are gonna work on greening up that part of our Christmas for next year!)  I’m happy to say I made out pretty well too.  Guess what I got?  My very own light box!  I’m so excited to try it out!. I also got a new food processor to replace my 17-year-old one, and a fun baking pan that bakes in square shapes.  Yea me!

There were some silly moments.  Some friendly competitions.  A few temper tantrums – none by me.  Claudia lost her two front teeth.  (That was rather dramatic, to say the least.  But, boy, does she look cuter than heck with her new toothless grin.)   There was a little day-after-Christmas shopping for me and my sisters.  A trip to the movies to see The Princess and the Frog.  And it seems as though I kinda hit on my brother-in-law.  (Yes, Matt, you look handsome without the beard.  Take it any way you want.)

We all rocked out on Lego Rock Band, which was a hoot.  Imagine a lot of out-of-key singing and some very unmusical people trying to keep the rhythm on guitar and drums.  And if the Supergrass song, Grace, doesn’t stop running through my head, I am really gonna lose it.  Who the heck is Grace and why does she have to save her money for the children anyway?!  (This video’s for you, Bea!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 12:23 pm

    I’d have loved to be a fly on the wall while you guys were giving the rock band a go. LOL!
    ~ingrid

  2. December 31, 2009 5:09 pm

    I’m a life long vegetarian and that even looks good to me! :-)

  3. December 31, 2009 5:28 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas. Can’t wait to see what you whip upo with your new gifts!

  4. January 1, 2010 2:33 am

    Love that photo of the Ruby Red slippers! We have been on the go for the past week and a half and I am ready to click my heels together to get home. It will be a long way back home from Grand Cayman to the OC…..but the time away with family was wonderful. Memories for the kids that will last a life time.

Leave a Reply

