Skip to content

Vanilla roasted walnuts

January 2, 2010
tags: , ,

Vanilla Roasted Walnuts

As soon as I saw these at Elana’s Pantry, I knew I needed to make them.  So delicious!  I definitely recommend that you try them.  I haven’t been able to walk past the bowl without grabbing a handful, and I’m already planning to make them again very soon.

Recipe:  Vanilla Roasted Walnuts

(recipe found at Elana’s Pantry)

2 c. walnuts

1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil    (I didn’t use this much because my pan was nonstick.)

2 Tbsp. agave nectar

1/4 tsp. kosher salt + sea salt for sprinkling at the end   (Naturally, the extra sea salt was all me.  I couldn’t help myself!)

1-2 vanilla beans

dash of ground cinnamon

Place walnuts and oil in a large skillet and turn heat to high.  When you hear the nuts begin to sizzle, turn heat down to medium/low.  Toast walnuts until the smell nice and nutty.  Add agave nectar and distribute around pan, stirring and cooking for a minute or two.  Add 1/4 tsp. salt.  Scrape the beans out of the vanilla pod and add to walnuts.  Remove walnuts from pan and add a dash of cinnamon.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 5:54 am

    salty and sweet and with hints of cinnamon and vanilla? yep, i think these may be the ultimate roasted nut. exceptional nosh!

  2. January 2, 2010 7:08 am

    This looks to be a great way to enjoy walnuts! Thanks for sharing :)

  3. January 2, 2010 7:50 am

    I am sure these are great. I love vanilla flavor, and especially when it is paired with something salty!

  4. January 2, 2010 8:06 am

    These sound divine. I love candied nuts but what if I don’t have agave nectar? Okay, I’m adding it to the grocery list.
    ~ingrid

  5. January 2, 2010 7:59 pm

    These look wonderful.

  6. January 3, 2010 5:39 am

    Ooooh these look yummy!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog. :) let me know if you end up making the Pineapple Vodka!

  7. Evie permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:47 am

    Hey! I saw Claudia with the confetti egg. ;) Sorry I haven’t written in a long time…(u can tell I’m Bea’s daughter)

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:52 am

    Hi, Evie. I’m glad you read the blog at least, even if your mom doesn’t. haha The confetti eggs were awesome! You should make some!
    Love ya… Aunt Shell

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:06 am

    Grace – Gotta agree. I couldn’t stop eating them.

    Karine – They really are yummy. Thanks for commenting!

    Natalie – I love the salty/sweet combo too.

    Ingrid – I’m wondering if honey might be a good substitute. Sorry, but you’d have to try it to see for sure.

    Emily – Thanks!

    Dena – Oh, I’m definitely gonna make that pineapple vodka… it’s just a matter of time. : )

    ~ Michelle

  10. January 3, 2010 6:04 pm

    uh, YUMMY! and to think that just 3 minutes ago (literally), i committed to a 10lb weight loss challenge with friends!

    your blog is a slice of heaven. my tummy is growling just perusing your posts!

Leave a Reply

