Skip to content

Kale chips

January 7, 2010
tags:

Kale Chips

I finally jumped on board the kale wagon that ran amok through the foodie blogsphere a short while ago.  The produce man at the grocery store tells me that most of the kale they sell goes to folks who have guinea pigs to feed.  Hilarious!  Not anymore, baby.  Jim and I are going to be giving those guinea pig owners a run for their money when it comes to being loyal kale customers.

Now as for the kids… Sam totally hated it, and Claudia couldn’t make up her mind.  But Jim and me?  We loved these kale chips!  Really loved them.  We were so happily surprised at how delicious this was.  We’re trying to eat more leafy greens, and I can’t think of a more appetizing way to do it than to turn them into crunchy chips with a dash of olive oil and salt.  They were nutty and crisp and delicious.  If you haven’t already tried these for yourself, you should!

Recipe:  Kale Chips

1 bunch of fresh kale

2 Tbsp. olive oil

kosher or sea salt

Wash and dry one bunch of kale.  Tear kale into pieces, being sure to tear stems off because they will be bitter.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Spread half of kale pieces on non-stick baking sheet.  Sprinkle with half of olive oil and some salt.  Toss to coat.  Cook for 15 minutes, until crispy.  Remove to paper-towel while cooking second batch.  (Follow same directions.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 3:39 am

    This sounds really good, will have to give it a try

  2. January 7, 2010 4:13 am

    O.k., this is not a route that I would go on my own, but because you have suggested it and I have had great luck with recipes that you’ve posted before, I will maybe give this a try. I tried to make kale awhile back and was not happy with the results, but I think I am just really inept at making it. Maybe this will change my mind. In the meantime, I will pray for all the soon-to-be-starving guinea pigs of the world. ;)

  3. January 7, 2010 6:58 am

    Kale is a rather common thing to eat in my country (Holland) and I love it. I have never made kale chips before though but it’s an interesting twist on a regular veggie.. I might give it a try!

  4. January 7, 2010 7:49 am

    I’ve seen some similar posts in the blogosphere and keep meaning to try doing kale this way. I actually love kale–sauteed, in soups, whatever-I think it’s delicious!

  5. January 7, 2010 3:41 pm

    I’ve only ever had kale in soup (and it was delicious!), but I might have to try this. I can’t quite imagine what these would taste like. I’ll just have to be brave. :)

  6. January 9, 2010 8:15 am

    I’ve been wanting to give kale a try but thought to go the soup route. Fried might be a better way to ease myself into it.
    ~ingrid

  7. Holly permalink
    January 11, 2010 6:04 pm

    Kale chips are a wonderful creation, sometimes I can eat a whole pan of them all by myself! I usually add a drizzle of balsamic vinegar to my batches before baking and it gives them extra flavor, just an idea for the future.

  8. February 1, 2010 12:42 am

    I love how spinach crisps up when you roast it like this, I bet the kale tastes just awesome too!

Leave a Reply

