Skip to content

White chocolate, macadamia, & cranberry cookies

January 10, 2010

White Chocolate, Macadamia, & Cranberry Cookies

My goddaughter, Lauren, has been visiting us for a few days while she’s on break.  First thing this morning, she asked me if we could make macadamia nut cookies.  Turns out, they’re her favorite cookie, and I’ve never even had one!  She wanted them so much that she ran to the store for the macadamia nuts and we got to work.

I found this recipe at Epicurious, and it didn’t disappoint.  I can see why Lauren loves them so much.  She wasn’t a fan of adding the cranberries, so I waited until the last tray to add those in.  I tried both and found that I liked the ones with the cranberries best.  (Lauren disagrees.)  I think the cranberries cut the richness of the cookie a little and added a nice tartness now and then.  They are really wonderful.

Recipe:  White Chocolate, Macadamia, & Cranberry Cookies

(inspired by Epicurious.com)

3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. kosher salt

1 c. unsalted butter, room temperature

1 c. packed light brown sugar

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. dried cranberries

1 1/2 c. white chocolate, chopped

1 c. coarsely chopped, roasted and salted macadamia nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.  Whisk flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl.  Set aside.  With mixer, beat butter until fluffy.  Add both sugars and beat until blended.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, then vanilla.  Add dry ingredients and beat just until blended.  Using a wooden spoon, stir in cranberries, chopped white chocolate, and macadamia nuts.

Drop dough by tablespoons onto prepared sheets.  Bake 10-14 minutes, or until golden around the edges.  Cool one minute on cookie sheet, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 3:24 pm

    These sound great! How cute that you two baked them together. I’m with Lauren, i’d skip the cranberries b/c I don’t like fruit and chocolate together. But the cranberries make them extra pretty!

  2. January 10, 2010 5:33 pm

    And they’re pretty too. I like the textures in this cookie- shewy, crunchy, salty and sweet. mmm. I feel like I jsut ate one.

  3. January 10, 2010 5:34 pm

    ha ha! I meant Chewy, not shewy :-)

  4. January 11, 2010 2:08 am

    i’m a massive fan of the white chocolate-macadamia nut combination, and i like the touch of tart/sweet/chewiness that the cranberries must contribute! great cookies. :)

  5. January 11, 2010 4:16 am

    I can’t believe you’ve never had a cookie as such until recent! Thank goodness for your god-daughter!!! :) I love these!

  6. January 11, 2010 9:39 am

    Hi Michelle, happy new year! I love to use Mac nuts in cookies, such a nice crunch! I also loved your earlier post with your 2009 round up. Brings so many good recipes to my attention. I have to do that on my blog too. I even forget what I have done.

  7. January 12, 2010 5:53 am

    I’ve never made macadamia nut cookies before! I’ll have to try these…we eat a lot of cookies at my house. :)

  8. January 12, 2010 11:58 am

    Yeah!! I am so happy you received your SB chocolate! I recently made truffles as well, I will post soon….

    These cookies look great! No wonder your goddaughter was craving them, now I am too. I would like the addition of the cranberries. Tart & sweet are a great combo. Lovely photo!

  9. January 12, 2010 1:52 pm

    Must. Have. These. Now.

  10. January 13, 2010 4:48 am

    I’m not as big a fan of white chocolate as dark, but white chocolate with macadamia sounds irresistible!

  11. January 13, 2010 5:18 pm

    I might be with Lauren on this. I like craisin but am not sure I want them in my cookies. They’re too much like raisins then.
    ~ingrid

  12. February 1, 2010 12:39 am

    Ooooooh, I love macadamia nuts in cookies! I bet dried tart cherries would be amazing in them if you didn’t like cranberries.

  13. March 10, 2010 8:34 pm

    reminds me of christmas!

  14. Vicky permalink
    February 9, 2011 4:23 pm

    I’m trying this recipe this afternoon. I hope they turn out well!

Leave a Reply

