Skip to content

Sweet potato slaw

January 19, 2010

Sweet Potato Slaw

I found this recipe and thought it sounded like an easy way to eat our veggies, so I gave it a try.  It doesn’t really taste at all like baked sweet potatoes, which is totally fine.  Instead, the apple and pineapple flavors really come through.  If I make it again, I’m going to use less mayo and sour cream, because it was very wet.  I’d also use sunflower seeds instead of walnuts for a little salty crunch.  In fact, I probably will make it again so I can try out those changes before deciding if it’ll become a keeper or not.

Recipe:  Sweet Potato Slaw

(slightly adapted from allrecipes.com)

1/2 c. mayonnaise

1/2 c. sour cream

2 Tbsp. honey

2 Tbsp. fresh-squeezed lemon juice

1 tsp. grated lemon peel

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

3 c. peeled and shredded sweet potatoes

1 medium apple, peeled and diced small

1 8-oz. can of pineapple tidbit, drained

1/2 c. chopped walnuts

In a bowl, combine the first 7 ingredients and stir until smooth.  Add the rest of the ingredients and toss to coat.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 2:38 pm

    hmmm, not sure about this one. It looks very similar to a carrot salad I make but I guess what deters me is the raw potato. Interesting for sure.

  2. January 19, 2010 4:26 pm

    This SPS sounds very interesting. Same as Monica’s comment, I have never had raw sweet potato. I think all the elements here sound really good. Maybe grate the slaw and then steam the SP & let them cool before tossing with other stuff…..perhaps that would bring out more SP flavor, then again maybe not :)

  3. January 20, 2010 2:03 am

    what an interesting recipe! the fruits must contribute so much, and your idea to use sunflower seeds in lieu of walnuts sounds perfect. this is highly adaptable and i love it!

  4. January 20, 2010 4:14 am

    Wow, never thought of eating raw sweet potatoes but I suppose if they were grated very thinly…and I have seen raw beet salad recipes, so I guess it’s the same idea. It sure is pretty!

  5. January 21, 2010 1:01 pm

    Hi Michelle! Thanks so much for your comment on my blog, and glad it led me here :)

    This sounds terrific to me, though I suspect I’d also find it too creamy for my taste. But I love the pineapple and apple in there–almost like a dessert! If you’re interested in using sweet potato raw, I peel and cut rounds as a base for my raw almond-veggie pate–I use the potato rounds instead of crackers! It’s yummy, and the two together go really well. Now I want to try this salad, too.

Leave a Reply

