Skip to content

Salted ginger oatmeal cookies

January 23, 2010

Salted Ginger Oatmeal Cookies

Well, I gotta start right off by saying I wasn’t a big fan of these cookies.  I loved the salted thing, the ginger was good (but maybe just a little too strong), and the cookie was way too crispy.  Now, if you love a crispy cookie, then give these a try because you’ll probably really like them.  The flavor was very good, but I just need a chewier texture.  I adjusted the oven temperature, baked some with parchment paper and some without, under-baked a couple batches, and played around with the cooking time.  No dice.  This is just meant to be a crunchy cookie.

So.  Well.  I guess that’s just about it then.  {shrug}

Recipe:  Salted Ginger Oatmeal Cookies

(from Baking Illustrated)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

3/4 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 c. unsalted butter, softened but still cool

1 c. packed light brown sugar

1 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract  (I added this since it wasn’t it the original and I can’t imagine not including it.)

3 c. old-fashioned rolled oats

sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  (I also tried baking these at 325 and still got a very crisp cookie.) Line baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray.

Whisk flour, baking powder, nutmeg, ginger, and salt in medium bowl.  Set aside

Beat butter in another bowl on medium speed until creamy.  Add sugars; beat until fluffy, three minutes.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time.  Add vanilla.

Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture with a wooden spoon.  Stir in oats.

Roll dough into balls.  Roll balls in sea salt of your choice.  (Instead of rolling in the sea salt, I gently flattened the tops of the balls and sprinkled some sea salt on top.) Bake until cookie edges turn golden brown, 22-25 minutes.  (Watch them!  This amount of time would have been much too long in my oven.) Cool on baking sheet for two minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 4:16 am

    Sorry these werent a hit for you! I do love the sweet and salty idea though. yum yum!

  2. January 23, 2010 10:04 am

    Not all recipes can be winners, right? I’m lucky you tried these out and posted about them, because I have this cookbook and probably would have tried them eventually. Oh well, you live, you learn!

  3. January 23, 2010 4:10 pm

    Bummer! Michelle make it a BAR cookie and I bet you get what you were hoping for! :)
    ~ingrid

  4. January 23, 2010 7:08 pm

    michelle! these look like they would be right up my alley! i love ginger and salty cookies! But I too am a chewy cookie lover. I was looking online to find some tips for us on making cookies chewier cuz I am super determined to make these and I want you to have your dream cookie.

    Have you tried using a combo of molasses AND brown sugar?
    Maybe reduce the amount of granulated white sugar and compensate with brown?
    Make the butter warmer before adding the sugar.

    I’ll see if i can whip a batch soon.

  5. January 24, 2010 7:32 am

    until you try it, you don’t realize how much difference that little bit of salt on top makes. neat cookie!

  6. Evie permalink
    January 24, 2010 1:26 pm

    They look so good! I want one with lots of ginger! Did Sam and Claud like them?

  7. January 25, 2010 4:13 am

    Oh no! I hate when you try something out and it just wasnt what you were hoping for. The favor combos sound good. :)

  8. January 25, 2010 6:51 pm

    There goes Ingrid again trying to push those bars on everyone- ha!

    I saw the recipe called for rolling them in salt- talk about salty! I like that you just sprinkled them.

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:32 am

    Hi, Evie!! Nope, Sam and Claudia didn’t like these cookies at all, but apparently Uncle Jim did. They’re all gone!!!! : )
    ~ Love ya! Aunt Shell

  10. February 4, 2010 12:56 pm

    Hi there! Just discovered your blog and read through all of the archives yesterday, because everything looked so good. This is the first recipe I started with (probably because I had everything I needed in the kitchen already), but was already midway through it before I noticed your “I wasn’t a big fan of these” line… Oops. I had the same lackluster response to them. Oh well, guess I’ll just have to make sure my next attempt is one that you rated as a winner!

  11. Yiskah permalink
    September 20, 2010 9:00 pm

    If you substitute brown sugar for the white sugar it will make them chewy
    one of my fun baking tips
    just make sure to take them out of the oven based on color and time and not if they’re “set” because brown sugar cookies don’t set until they start to cool

Leave a Reply

