Skip to content

Cake mix cookie bars

January 25, 2010

Cake Mix Cookie Bars

We woke up to no electricity this morning, and can I just say that I would have made a horrible pioneer woman?  I absolutely hate when that happens.  Not to mention that it was still dark out, a Monday morning, and I was volunteering in the school library today.  Good grief.  That is just not a great way to start the week.  I finally get us all to school… on time and everything.  Their power went out 4 times while I was there.  Not a great way to start their week either!  The wind has been crazy here, and I guess it’s knocked out power in lots of places, so we are just one of many.  The kids were all loving it at school though.  Lots of oohs and ahhs.  Goofballs.

I was thankful when I got home that our power had come back on and I was able to bake something for book club.  And get my hair properly taken care of!!!  But that’s just a side note, and I have to say a big thank you to Sam’s sweet friend, Adam, for telling me I looked like a teenager with my hair in a headband.  What a charmer.  That’s kinda nice to hear when you’re in the middle of a major freak-out.

So back to my baking.  Tonight is book club and those folks expect a sweet treat, but I was short on time today.  Instead of starting from scratch, I grabbed a box of cake mix and made these cookie bars in less than 20 minutes.   {Ingrid, are you listening?  teehee}

This recipe is totally versatile, and you could top the bars with whatever goodies you have in your pantry.  Nuts, chocolate chips, candy.  I used peanut butter chips and milk chocolate chips, but some pecans or walnuts would have been good with the caramel-y topping.  Sadly, it sure isn’t a very pretty dessert!!    Would I make this again?  I don’t think so.  My kids weren’t big fans of the “sticky” topping, but I appreciate that I was able to throw it together in a pinch.  Here’s the original recipe if you’d like to give it a try.

Recipe:  Cake Mix Cookie Bars

1/2 c. butter, melted

1 box (2 layer) chocolate cake mix

1 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1 c. white chocolate chips

2 c. chopped pecans or coconut

1/2 c. milk chocolate chips

14-oz. can of sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place butter and cake mix in large bowl.  Mix with a fork until crumbly.  Sprinkle evenly over bottom of a jelly roll pan and press to form crust.  Sprinkle with semisweet and white chocolate chips and pecans or coconut.

Melt milk chocolate chips in microwave on medium heat for 1-2 minutes or until melted.  Stir sweetened condensed milk into melted chocolate.  Spread mixture all over the top of the cookie bars.  Bake for 18 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool completely before cutting into bars.

{If you’re interested, our book selection for January was Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl.}
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 11:22 am

    gosh you bring your treats to your book club meetings? If someone in a book club near me did that (and had treats as good as yours) that would be inspiration for me to join…

  2. January 25, 2010 12:11 pm

    I have done that before too, made something that seemed like it would be great and my family not think so. But at least the book club had a treat! Ingrid likes bars- hehe!

  3. January 25, 2010 12:23 pm

    Happens to me often too! :) Glad the book club had a treat!

  4. January 25, 2010 1:15 pm

    I wish I could be part of your book club!! YUMMY! I’m glad your power has returned. I feel the same way without power. It makes you really appreciate what you have.

  5. January 25, 2010 6:58 pm

    They seem very similar to a magic cookie bar. But I bet because of the cake crust and all those toppings they were really sweet. I like sticky toppings but I’m not sure I’d make these either.

  6. January 26, 2010 1:47 am

    bars trump cookies any day. delicious and chocolate-y bars made in no time flat pretty much trump everything.
    incidentally, i’m absolutely lost when the power goes out. it’s a sad sight to behold.

  7. January 26, 2010 5:35 am

    Ha! I do love my bars and shortcuts but I’m not certain I would have given this a try. Too much chocolate for me and my guys. Maybe with a yellow cake mix? I will though keep it mind for when I need to whip up something for a ooey gooey chocolate lover. :)
    ~ingrid

    Btw, we’ve lost power a couple of times last week. I need my alarm clock so we got up late. :(

  8. July 26, 2013 8:35 pm

    Improving our carbon footprints should be done in every aspect
    of our lives including our children’s birthday parties. On the backside of the coin displays all 12 Chinese zodiac symbols. This helps prevent crumbs from getting in your frosting.

Leave a Reply

