Skip to content

Cowboy cookies

January 26, 2010

Cowboy Cookies

I’m a fan of cowboys – the old time kind, not the Dallas kind.  I love ’em.  (I also have a thing for vampires, but we’ll save that one for another time.  hehe)  Ever seen or read Lonesome Dove?  Ay, God, but that’s a good one.  Anyway, I read yesterday that Pernell Roberts passed away.  For those of you who don’t know, he played Adam Cartwright on a little show called Bonanza.  I was hooked on Bonanza reruns growing up.  I’ll admit that Adam wasn’t my favorite Cartwright boy.  Neither was Little Joe.  I was all about Hoss.  Big ‘ole loveable Hoss.  I even used to tell my mom that I was gonna name my son Hoss and we’d all call him ‘Lil Hoss.  Drove her crazy.  {Remember, Mom?} Instead, I grew up, and when my little boy arrived, we named him Sam Austin.  Now he gives me a hard time for naming him like a cowboy.  I couldn’t help it, it just kind of happened.

Okay, I’m kind of getting off my topic here.  When I read about Roberts yesterday, I thought it’d be a fitting tribute to the last of the Cartwright men to whip up a big ‘ole batch of cowboy cookies.  And when I say big, I’m not kidding around here.  Each of these cookies is a whopping 1/4 c. of dough and they bake up bigger than your hand.  They are nothing short of awesome.  Chock full of peanut butter, oats, chocolate, nuts, and raisins.  A real man’s cookie.

And speaking of real men, I’m shipping these bad boys off to a special young man I know – my godson, Jeff.  (Lauren’s baby brother, for those of you who are regulars.)  He’s stationed at Fort Huachuca, AZ right now and I figure that a bunch of manly ARMY boys will surely enjoy a cookie as formidable as this one.

Before I post the recipe, I have to pay proper homage to Bonanza.  This tune’s been running through my head all day.  Did you know there are words to it?  Yepper.

Recipe:  Cowboy Cookies

(adapted from Southern Food)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. peanut butter

1 c. granulated sugar

1 c. packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 c. old-fashioned oats

2 c. chocolate chunks or chips

1 c. coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans

1/2 c. raisins

Lightly grease a baking sheet or line with parchment paper.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter, peanut butter, and sugars until creamy.  Beat in vanilla and one egg at a time until smooth.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl.  Stir into butter mixture.  Add oats, chocolate chips, walnuts, and raisins.  Drop cookie by 1/4 cupful onto baking sheet.  (I baked 4 at a time, but 6 would likely work nicely too.)  Bake for 13-15 minutes, until edges are beginning to become golden.  Cookie should be a little under-baked.  Remove from oven and cool on baking pan for 1-2 minutes before removing to wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 18 cookies.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 8:42 am

    I’m not a man, but this sure does look like MY sort of cookie (minus the nuts haha). YUMMMMMMMMMY!

  2. January 26, 2010 11:43 am

    I love everything in this cookie, esp those oats. Nice and big too! My daddy is the sweetest cowboy I know. Love old cowboy songs!

  3. January 26, 2010 1:50 pm

    I haven’t made cowboy cookies in a while. I usually make them every Christmas except for this past year. I’ll have to remedy that. Except I’ve never made them with peanut butter. This is similar to the monster cookies I’ve made.

    Yum either way. I love all the chunky goodies in them!

  4. January 27, 2010 1:48 am

    oh, i totally share your love for cowboys. there’s something about their swagger and charm that makes me swoon. :)
    and hey–great cookies! they look soft and chewy and bumpy and just perfect.

  5. grandy permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:33 am

    You, my love, are a true nut. I’m really glad you only have one boy. I would have never called him Hoss!! Did you name these cookies or are they really cowboy cookies? :)

  6. January 27, 2010 1:28 pm

    These cowboy cookies sound fab! I am sure those ARMY boys will love you. I love that they are so giant. Peanut Butter, Chocolate and Oats…your killing me! I can smell them from here!

  7. January 27, 2010 4:25 pm

    Um, Michelle…I’ve never seen that program. :)Okay, I was gonna mess with you some more but you might come after me with your rollin’ pin. :)

    I love cowboys…I remember Clint Eastwood. :)
    ~ingrid

  8. January 28, 2010 4:02 am

    Oooh, I was a big fan of Bonanza too! (and I love vampires too by the way!) and those cookies are lovely. I recently saw a dvd box with very old episodes of Winnetou and Old Shatterhand. Almost bought it, but figured it would be terrible to watch after so many years… :)

  9. January 31, 2010 3:46 pm

    I clicked on your beautiful photo on Photograzing, because I wanted to read about the recipe. These cookies sound so delicious and your post about cowboys is very cute.

  10. Dani permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:52 am

    The school that I work at is having their 1st annual Bake-Off with a few guys and the home-ec teacher as the judges. This round will be only “chip” cookies. Where do I go for the master recipes? To my sister, of course. I figured I should make the Cowboy cookies at least once before the contest to see if they stood a chance to win…OMG they are amazing. It is like every single type of cookie all rolled into one. Rylie (my 9-year old daughter), Matt (my husband) and I LOVE them.

    Thanks, Shell, for posting an amazing cookie!

Trackbacks

  1. Cowboy Cookies, oh boy!!! « Fun with Food's Blog

Leave a Reply

