Skip to content

Chili lime popcorn

January 29, 2010

Chili Lime Popcorn

I know, I know.  Popcorn again.  I can’t help myself, really.  I love popcorn.

This time I went for total summer flavors.  In fact, I can picture a backyard bbq with something tasty on the grill, some cold Coronas with lime wedges (or maybe a margarita?), and a big bowl of this popcorn on the table for snacking while we hang around the deck.  Sound good?

Summer can’t get here soon enough for me, and that might be one of the reasons I enjoyed this popcorn so much.  The lime brings a great zing to the whole thing, with a nice background flavor of butter, salt, and chili powder.  It was different, but it was a really good kind of different.

Recipe:  Chili Lime Popcorn

2/3 c. unpopped popcorn kernels (or about 8 – 10 cups of popped popcorn)

3 Tbsp. butter

generous sprinkling of salt

1/2 – 1 tsp. chili powder

zest of 1 lime

juice of 1/2 – 1 lime

Pop popcorn in air popper.  In the meantime, melt butter with lime zest over low heat.  When popcorn is popped, toss with butter mixture.  Squeeze some of lime over popcorn and toss; repeat until you’ve added as much lime juice as you’d like.  Sprinkle generously with salt.  Pour popcorn onto a rimmed baking sheet and place in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.  This will help the popcorn get crunchy again, after it’s little butter and lime juice bath.  Enjoy!

350 degrees for 10 minutes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 10:42 am

    I never thought to try this combo on popcorn! I do grilled corn on the cob with chili and lime all the time during the summer, but now I can have my summer treat any time!

  2. January 29, 2010 10:48 am

    I LOVE popcorn. and hey- its wholegrain and fiber :) Loving the spicey texi mex kick to this!

  3. January 29, 2010 6:36 pm

    yummm. this looks so good. and I was just thinking today how I am ready to move on into warm weather.

  4. January 30, 2010 3:07 am

    still not as awesome as your cinnamon batch, but oh-so-tempting!

  5. January 30, 2010 7:09 am

    My mouth is… drool drool… watering. I’m making this TODAY

  6. January 30, 2010 11:56 am

    So I went out and bought some chili powder, but I could not find any non-microwave popcorn in town! I checked six, yes six supermarkets!!!!

  7. January 31, 2010 5:18 am

    Yum, chili lime is my favorite tortilla chip flavor–never tried it on popcorn but why wouldn’t it be fabulous? Nice idea!

  8. January 31, 2010 11:51 am

    Sound totally good. A margarita hold the salt for me! This popcorn looks so tasty and I love chili and lime flavors together. mmm.

  9. February 1, 2010 2:02 pm

    I made it but it was too buttery and salty and not limey enough. Maybe I should have actually followed your recipe, ya think?
    {first thing I’m ever ACTUALLY making from your blog! yay!}

  10. February 3, 2010 1:42 am

    I like your mix of flavors here. Nothing like a fresh batch of seasoned popcorn!

Trackbacks

  1. 5 Savory & Spicy Gourmet Popcorn Recipes - The Frugal Female

Leave a Reply

