Skip to content

Love note

February 13, 2010

If you haven’t taken a look at Shutter Sisters, I hope you do.  With Valentine’s Day upon us, they have encouraged their readers to write a love note.  But not just any love note.  A love note to yourself.  What a wonderful idea!  Don’t we all need to be a little more gentle with ourselves?  A little less hard on ourselves?

I think this is a great idea, but when I was rolling it around in my mind, I kept coming back to the one part of my life where I doubt myself the most … the place where I need the most encouragement.  And that’s being a mom.  I second-guess.  I make myself feel guilty.  I stress about messing up.  So I decided that I’m going to give myself a pass, at least for one day.  I’m looking at my growing babies and I’m seeing two sweet, kind-hearted, funny kids.  I think I’m doing this right.

My love note … to myself …

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 3:14 am

    I think we all doubt ourselves, especially those of us who are trying to do this parenting thing “right”. I think they call it “intentional parenting”.
    And you’re as “intentional” as they come.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. February 14, 2010 9:13 am

    I’m right there with you Michelle! I worry about how I’m doing ALL the time. In my mind there isn’t any room for mess ups. While I have three children, I only have one chance at getting it right. The one thing I hope my children know is that I’m doing my best and that I don’t ask anything of them that I don’t expect of myself. With Jalen I worry about it the most! :(

    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    ~ingrid

  3. February 14, 2010 12:32 pm

    Yes you are! I love this idea. Though we are different kinds of parents I still have the same doubts as being a mother. I may give this a try, though I think I may struggle a bit.

    Happy Valentine’s Day sweetie!

  4. February 15, 2010 3:32 am

    What a cute idea! I love it! I am sure you are a wonderful mom :)

  5. February 15, 2010 4:47 am

    This is a very good idea…we can all be so hard on ourselves and to what end? Give yourself a break!!

  6. February 15, 2010 6:02 am

    As a mathematician, scientist, and engineer, the one thing that always gets me about how we look at life is the simple fact that there are no do-overs. You can’t go back, change the conditions, analyze the results, and compare it to the first trial. So even when we think we have royally screwed up, we don’t give ourselves credit for the parts we did right. Kinda the big Wonderful Life effect.

    Pretty sure you’re doing this right …

  7. February 15, 2010 11:24 am

    lovely. :)

Leave a Reply

