Skip to content

Zebra fudge by guest blogger Sam

February 15, 2010

fudgeSam’s “Zebra Fudge”

If this project was rated 1-10, this would be a 4.  (1 would be extremely easy and 10 would be extremely hard.)  This is a good recipe for kids because you only use the microwave and measuring cups.

Here’s what I did:

We used dark chocolate and white chocolate, and we melted the chocolate with sweetened condensed milk.  We did that in the microwave.  After the chocolate was melted, we poured it into an 8×8 inch pan.  When the white and dark chocolate is in the pan, we put it in the refrigerator and let it cool for 2 hours.

I made this for my Valentine’s Day party in my 4th grade class.  I made this because it sounded very good and has two of my favorite chocolates.  I used candy hearts and decorated it by putting them on top of the fudge.  It was very easy and fun and I enjoyed it.  And I hope you do too.

Love, Sam

 

Recipe:  Sam’s Zebra Fudge

(from Family Fun magazine)

Dark Chocolate Layer:

1 1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 c. sweetened condensed milk

dash of salt

White Chocolate Layer:

1 1/4 c. white chocolate chips

1/2 c. sweetened condensed milk

Line an 8×8″ pan with foil; set aside.  In a medium-size, microwave-safe bowl, combine semisweet chocolate, sweetened condensed milk, and salt.  Microwave at 30 second intervals until chocolate is melted, about 1 minute, stirring at each interval.  When the mixture is smooth, spread into prepared pan.

In another microwave-safe bowl, combine white chocolate and sweetened condensed milk.  Repeat melting process, but check at 20 second intervals because white chocolate burns easily.  Spread white chocolate evenly over dark chocolate layer.

While fudge is warm, use a knife to gently score it into squares, then place candy heart in the middle of each square.  Chill in refrigerator for 2 hours.  Lift fudge out of pan using the foil.  Use a large knife to cut apart squares.  Store at room temperature or in refrigerator.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Bea permalink
    February 15, 2010 1:43 pm

    Wow! Sam, these are just beautiful! Your mom told me they were the prettiest pictures on the blog and by golly she’s right. You certainly have mom’s knack for baking. I’m sure your friends will rate them a 10 1/2.
    I love you,
    Aunt Bea

  2. Cousin Ev permalink
    February 15, 2010 1:51 pm

    Sam! Wow! I didn’t know you had it in you! Every time your mom talks about you helping her, she says you always quit! They look awesome. :) Hope you had a fun time making them!

    Love,
    Evie

    (P.S Aunt Shell, DON’T underestimate the power of your son! ;) )

  3. February 15, 2010 3:40 pm

    Go Sam! Go Sam! Your fudge rocks, Dude! :)
    ~ingrid

  4. grandy permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:19 am

    Sam, your fudge is beautiful! I can’t wait for you to teach me how to make it. Zebra fudge… cool name.

  5. February 16, 2010 5:19 am

    That is so pretty and fun. I love the simplicity of the recipe too! Thanks for sharing a great idea.

  6. February 16, 2010 7:41 am

    very excellent. what a great name for a delicious treat, and i love the heart on top!

  7. February 16, 2010 1:36 pm

    Sam this is a great fudge and so easy too, thanks for sharing. I should make this with my kiddies soon.

  8. February 16, 2010 8:47 pm

    Sam, first off I have to say that I love your name and I think your fudge looks incredible. You’re going to give your momma a run for her money!

  9. February 17, 2010 6:18 am

    This is absolutely gorgeous fudge! I’m going to have to take some lessons because I’ve only tried to make fudge once, and it came out a big soupy mess. I’ll definitely try this one!

    BTW Mom, I left you something on my blog :)

  10. February 17, 2010 6:40 am

    Looks great. I’ve never made fudge, maybe I should give it a try. Pictures are wonderful!!

  11. February 19, 2010 6:19 am

    This photo is ADORABLE! Love the polka dotted linen and the contrasting square fudge. Excellent!

  12. February 22, 2010 10:28 am

    They look fantastic – and I bet they taste good too!

Leave a Reply

