Skip to content

Let’s move

February 19, 2010
tags:

First Lady Michelle Obama has introduced the Let’s Move initiative, and I’m so pleased that she is bringing attention to such a growing concern.  I know my kids don’t eat as well as they should.  Their school lunches are such a disappointment to me that my kids pack their lunches nearly every day.  And there are plenty of evenings that we opt for pizza and call the sauce our vegetable.  Luckily for me, my kids are very active.  But I’m in their school a lot, and I see that many kids are struggling with weight issues at very young ages.  Check out this video and please head over to the Let’s Move website.  It’s full of good information and attainable goals.  We really can raise a healthier generation of kids.  Let’s move!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 11:30 am

    What’s really a shame is that we know so much more about exercise and nutrition than we did X years ago, and yet all we’ve done is turned about 1% of the kids into incredible athletes while the rest fall to the wayside. We have more teenagers in the Olympics than ever before, and yet everyone else is sitting around watching them.

    Thanks for the heads up on Michele’s video!

  2. February 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    When I saw the title of the post I thought you had seen a mouse in your house or something and wanted to move… Then I read on and it made sense. Glad you’re not moving, but that you ARE encouraging others (along with Mrs. Obama) to GET MOVING!

  3. February 20, 2010 6:39 am

    Michelle, thanks so much for bringing my attention to that video. I am going to take a look at the Let’s Move website as well. I couldn’t agree more that we need to focus and work harder on getting clean, healthy, fresh ingredients on the table for our kids. School needs to be firmly addressed and changed. xo

  4. February 25, 2010 3:05 pm

    Yay to moving! Michelle I am the new girl’s PE teacher at my school and love it, but wow it is hard to get a few of the girls to move. I think we live in an electrical world and they think they do not have to move!

Leave a Reply

