Skip to content

Chocolate cake and a championship

February 23, 2010

My life has been kind of overrun with basketball lately.  I have to brag about my baby a little bit, so please indulge me, okay?

Sam’s team played in the league basketball tournament over the weekend and kept inching their way closer and closer to the top two.  By Sat. night, we knew they were in the finals!  Last night was the play-off game and guess what?  THEY WON IT ALL!  Those boys were so excited and proud and happy.  I have to say, so were all of us moms and dads sitting (or jumping up and down) in the bleachers.  They worked hard, they were team players, and they played with such heart!  They earned those #1 trophies and that title.  I am one proud (and tired) mama today.

“My responsibility is getting all my players playing for the name on the front of the jersey, not the one on the back.”
~source unknown

To celebrate, I made Sam a chocolate cake in the shape of his jersey.  What a hit!  I might not have earned a trophy, but I got a huge goofy grin and I’ll take that anytime.

Chocolate Sour Cream Cake

Recipe:  Chocolate Sour Cream Cake

(from Hershey’s Kitchens)

1 3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. Hershey’s cocoa

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

2/3 c. butter, softened

1 16-oz. container sour cream

2 eggs 1 tsp. vanilla extract

your favorite frosting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 13×9″ pan.

Stir together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.  Add butter, sour cream, eggs, and vanilla; beat on low to combine.  Increase speed to medium and beat for 3 minutes.  Pour into prepared pan.  Bake 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack.  Frost with favorite frosting.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 11:18 am

    Congratulations to Sam and his teammates! They earned it! :)

    And, nice job on the chocolate cake, looks delicious. When I hear the words “chocolate cake” I go a little crazy inside. I just love it. And actually, chocolate cake with vanilla frosting is my FAVORITE. Nice job!

  2. February 23, 2010 1:36 pm

    Way to go! Him – for the b-ball, you – for the cake! I’m intrigued by the sour cream in it. But I may have to hold off on trying it out, because I made Pioneer Woman’s chocolate sheet cake the other day (it is AWESOME, by the way, if you’ve never tried it) and ate a significantly large portion of it myself… Now here you are tempting me again!

  3. February 23, 2010 1:39 pm

    Yay, Sam!!! Another year or two and you guys will be on the Road to Disney! :)
    ~ingrid

  4. February 23, 2010 4:51 pm

    A goofy grin makes it all worth it :)

  5. February 24, 2010 8:33 am

    i love basketball. i love to play, i love to watch, i love to coach, and i love to referee (unless the parents get unruly…). congrats, and what a way to celebrate!

  6. February 24, 2010 10:42 am

    Congrats to your son! That will be such a great memory for him. What fun. Such a tasty looking cake too.

  7. February 24, 2010 3:05 pm

    Congrats to your son and his team!! Woohoo!!!

    That cake looks fabulous.

  8. February 25, 2010 12:18 pm

    yay!! i played on a b-ball team too – congrats to your son!! love the addition of sour cream in this cake!

  9. February 25, 2010 3:07 pm

    Hooray for SAM and his team!! Hooray for sour cream in chocolate cake. And hooray for that quote Michelle, it is a great one. Thanks for sharing it.

  10. February 25, 2010 7:33 pm

    Oh that’s so cool. Congrats to Sam and his team!

    That cake looks good. What kind of frosting did you use?

    And what are the answers to the T/F?

  11. February 26, 2010 10:17 am

    Yay! Congrats, Sam! No, seriously, that is COOL!

  12. March 13, 2010 1:07 pm

    I made this today! I love sour cream so I thought, hmmm, let’s give this a try. (I came here looking for a chocolate cake recipe; I knew I’d find one! You are now my go to place for good recipes lol.) It was so easy. And it was yummy too, despite the oven being turned off for 15 minutes in the middle of baking it (don’t ask…). It was a teeny bit stodgy as a result, and the middle fell in, but it was still really, really good and I’ll definitely make it again. In fact, I plan to use it for my Easter party cupcakes in a few weeks.

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 13, 2010 1:15 pm

    Yea! Why do you act like you don’t cook or bake anyway? ; ) I think the cake sunk in the middle from not being completely baked. Um, can I ask why the oven was off in the middle of this baking venture? LOL
    ~Michelle

  14. Evie permalink
    March 14, 2010 6:01 am

    Sam, I just know you were SO happy about winning! Aunt Shell, the cake looks awesome! I bet it was yummy!

Leave a Reply

