Skip to content

Parmesan pasta with artichokes

March 3, 2010
tags: ,

Parmesan Pasta with Artichokes

If you’re looking for a delicious dinner that you can bring together in a snap, this is it.  I often have a jar of artichoke hearts (packed in water) in the pantry, and there’s always Parmesan cheese to be had in my freezer.  With just a few ingredients, you get a meal that’s out of the ordinary and delicious.  (The artichoke hearts are a great pizza topping too!)

Recipe:  Parmesan Pasta with Artichokes

(adapted slightly from delish.com)

2 Tbsp. butter

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 c. heavy cream or half and half

3/4 tsp. kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

2 1/2 c. artichoke hearts (packed in water), drained, cut into halves or quarters

1 lb. dried pasta

1/2 c. shredded Parmesan cheese

2 Tbsp. fresh or dried chives or parsley

Cook pasta according to package directions.  While pasta is cooking, melt butter in a medium saucepan over low heat.  Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds.  Stir in the cream, salt, pepper, and artichoke hearts.  Cook until heated through.

Sprinkle Parmesan cheese and chives in the bottom of a large serving dish.  Toss pasta with cream mixture and add to serving dish.  Toss to combine.  Sprinkle top with additional cheese, if desired.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 5:46 am

    My mouth is watering… I’d better go have some (much more boring than this) lunch…

  2. grandy permalink
    March 3, 2010 6:19 am

    Sounds and looks really good! …like something you should make for me when you come home…

  3. March 3, 2010 8:01 am

    Parmesan pasta with ANYTHING sounds good to me. Especially with bread on the side…looks like the perfect carb-y dinner. That’s a great photo!!

  4. March 3, 2010 2:09 pm

    YUMMY!! This dish looks amazing!!

  5. March 3, 2010 3:09 pm

    This is my kinda dish, simple,fast, and delish. I make something similar but with mushrooms. I like artichokes but never buy them….I’m gonna add them to the grocery list.
    ~ingrid

  6. March 4, 2010 12:35 am

    great idea! really, why aren’t artichoke hearts used more often? they certainly shouldn’t be limited to spinach artichoke dip. :)

  7. March 4, 2010 4:37 am

    I love those amazingly quick dinners! And pasta is always a favorite!

  8. March 4, 2010 7:33 am

    I do love these quick pasta meals. So much can be added to them and they are super fast. I think it is so funny that my hubby married an Italian gal and he is not a big pasta person. Ho hum. He will have to get over it. You should have seen his face when he bit into my homemade gnocchi. I thought he was going for faint. He is a meat and potato guy! The kids and I will stick to these quick pasta meals!

  9. March 5, 2010 2:57 pm

    I too always have some jarred artichoke hearts in the pantry. They are a great addition to this pasta. Anything with butter and parmesan is a friend of mine :)

  10. March 7, 2010 3:46 am

    This is a lovely and delicious dish. The beauty of Italian cooking is that simplicity can be rather amazing if the ingredients are good. Your blog may be called “One Ordinary Day” but this is no ordinary pasta.

  11. March 8, 2010 4:14 am

    Simple and delicious — just the way I like my pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  12. The Curried Jesus permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:39 pm

    what a fantastic dish. I shall be atempting this myself

  13. March 21, 2010 9:34 am

    Mmmmmm, I just love simple pasta dishes! That looks so summery to me, must make it this week!

Trackbacks

  1. Week 72 (September 21st – September 27th) « Documenting every day of my 25th year and beyond

Leave a Reply

