Skip to content

Gettin’ my green on

March 31, 2010

Look!  I got a new toothbrush!

I know, big deal, right?  Well, it is a big deal and not because I love dental hygiene.  This toothbrush was made from recycled yogurt cups!  Seriously cool.  The company is called Preserve and its motto is: “Nothing wasted.  Everything gained.” I love it.

I already have a Preserve cutting board that I honestly use on a daily basis and it pops right in the dishwasher when I’m done fixing dinner.  Very convenient and I can recycle it later.  Preserve has a great line of household products, including tableware, razors, mixing bowls, measuring cups, and a lot more.  All made from recycled #5 plastics.

Some stores near you may collect #5s as part of this program.  If not, you can sent them to Preserve yourself.  For that matter, when my toothbrush is in need of being replaced, I can drop it in the mail and they’ll recycle it.  Do you use a Brita water filtration system?  They recycle those cartridges too.  Did I mention that this company is seriously cool?

As for this whole toothbrush thing, I have to tell you a couple things.  (Heather, if you’re reading this…. stop laughing!) My toothbrush comes in its own travel case, costs no more than the average toothbrush, and is recycled and recyclable.  Makes me happy.  But get this.  You can even sign up for a toothbrush subscription!  I kid you not.  You can sign up to receive a new toothbrush (color of your choice) every 3 months for a year.  Imagine your dentist’s glee.

Okay.  I’m done nudging you in your walk toward being greener.  But keep your eyes open for products from Preserve or visit their website and do some shopping.  By the way, I bought my products at Target, so this isn’t a paid endorsement or anything.  Just gettin’ my green on.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 3:14 pm

    Awesome, I’ve bookmarked this website so I can go back to it when I need gifts for friends. I’ll keep my eye out for them at Target too.

  2. April 1, 2010 1:21 am

    Just checked out their website….wonderful company. Thanks for sharing :)

  3. April 1, 2010 8:49 am

    That is pretty cool but I’m a cheeseball anyway. LOL!!
    ~ingrid

  4. Heather permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:54 pm

    My hubby got a Preserve toothbrush in his Easter basket!

Leave a Reply

