Skip to content

Meet Ruby

April 9, 2010

I want you to meet the newest member of our family!  This is Ruby Otis.  Yes, her name is Ruby Otis.  Claudia was not very pleased with the idea of a girl dog and, as a compromise, our sweet pup’s name went from Ruby to Ruby Otis.  Frankly, it suits her.  She’s a lab mix and just the sweetest thing.  16 pounds of love all wrapped up in a fawn-colored package with big feet and a tail that hardly ever stops wagging.

Needless to say, I’ve spent the bulk of this week cleaning up pee and hanging out in my yard.  I’ve got the sunburn to prove it too. But it’s fun having a puppy around.  She’s been my constant shadow and I’ve gotten more than my share of wet puppy kisses.  Cesar Millan is my new hero, I’ve been introduced to the bully stick, and I’ve promised the kids that we can make puppy ice cream on the next hot day.  That’ll be a recipe you won’t want to miss, right?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 4:24 am

    she is so sweet!!!

  2. bexbakes permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:54 am

    Oh she’s gorgeous! Good luck :)

  3. brenda permalink
    April 9, 2010 6:37 am

    PUPPY ICE CREAM???? Who are you—Cruella DeVille??

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 9, 2010 6:52 am

    Brenda – LOL You’re too funny. Let me rephrase that…. I’ll be making ice cream for the puppy! : )
    ~Michelle

  5. April 9, 2010 7:21 am

    Aww, how sweet! She is adorable! And Cesar Millan is amazing :-)

  6. April 9, 2010 10:03 am

    Goodness gracious, that’s one beautiful puppy! Have fun with her and post more pictures soon!

  7. April 9, 2010 1:42 pm

    I’m so HAPPY for you! Puppies are awesome. Please post lots of pictures so I can live vicariously through you. Now if only there was some way to put a puppy breath scratch and sniff on your website…

    Ruby Otis is an awesome name, too. Have fun with her!

  8. April 10, 2010 10:54 am

    Oooo that is just such an adorable cutie!! Congratulations on the new family member!!

  9. Evie permalink
    April 10, 2010 3:59 pm

    Aunt Shell- I can NOT wait to meet miss Ruby Otis! ;) I hope shes still that small this summer!
    Love ya!,
    Ev

  10. April 11, 2010 11:20 am

    Nice to meet you Ruby Otis! :)

    Gotta tell you I love her name. Very original.
    ~ingrid

  11. April 11, 2010 5:11 pm

    Ruby Otis is bee-you-tee-full! I love sleeping doggies in the grass :-)

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:41 am

    Thanks for all the well wishes for Ruby Otis. I don’t know about the puppy breath scratch and sniff. I’ll have to work on that one. : )

    And, Evie, I’m sorry to tell ya that she isn’t going to be this size long. Uncle Jim and I already think she’s grown and she’s only been home a week! By June she’s gonna be lots bigger!

    ~ Michelle
    (Aunt Shell to you, Ev!)

Leave a Reply

