Skip to content

And the winner is … pineapple goo cake

April 11, 2010

Pineapple Goo Cake

And the winner of my family’s annual throwdown is…

My mom and her pineapple goo cake!  Yes, it really is called “goo cake.”  You can’t tell in the photo because I snapped it right after the cake had been chilling in the fridge, but a nice syrupy liquid puddles under your piece of cake when it’s at room temperature.  That would be the goo.  I heard Jim tell my mom at least three times how delicious it was, and my nephew, Ayden, who was supposed to be my biggest fan, tossed his vote her way too.

The throwdown was a nail-biter though.  Before the last vote was counted, Dani’s meringue cake had 5 votes, my unassuming little pineapple float had 5 votes, and Mom’s goo cake had 5 votes.  Very exciting, right?  Mom was completely shocked when the last ballot declared her the winner.  It was so much fun!  The trophy is proudly displayed on the fireplace and she only taunted me with it a little bit.  I did offer to bring it home with me for safe-keeping as I was packing up, but no dice.  I’ll have to try to get it back fair and square next year.

The ironic thing was that Mom had planned to make something else entirely, but at the last minute threw this cake together.  She never imagined she would win the throwdown, so that made it all the better.  And for my mom, all the reactions the pineapple meringue cake is getting is kind of like icing on the cake.  {No pun intended!}  Since that’s one of her specialties, she’s really liked reading those comments too.

Here’s a picture of my beautiful mom with the throwdown trophy.  Congratulations, Mom!  Love you!!  xoxo  But don’t get used to that trophy.  : )

Recipe:  Pineapple Goo Cake

(from Paula Deen Best Desserts, Martha Upton)

2 c. all-purpose flour

2 c. sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

2 8-oz. cans crushed pineapple, undrained

1 tsp. vanilla extract

goo cake icing (recipe follows)

1 c. chopped pecans

1 c. sweetened flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 13×9″ baking pan with nonstick baking spray with flour.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add eggs, pineapple, and vanilla.  Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until combined.  Pour batter into a prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Using the end of a wooden spoon, make 1/2″ deep holes in top of cake at 1″ intervals.

Pour goo cake icing evenly over hot cake.  Sprinkle with chopped pecans and coconut.  Let cool completely before cutting into squares.  Store leftovers in refrigerator.

Goo Cake Icing:

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 c. butter

1 5-oz. can evaporated milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

In a medium saucepan, combine sugar, butter, and evaporated milk.  Bring to a boil over medium heat; boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat; stir in vanilla.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 7:34 am

    YUM!

  2. April 11, 2010 11:05 am

    Goo? LOL, sounds like a fun and yummy cake.

    You look like your Mom! Kudos to her on her win. :)
    ~ingrid

  3. April 11, 2010 5:27 pm

    Your mom is so cute and she looks so proud holding that trophy! It’ll be yours next year :-)

    I always wanted to make goo cake, but there are so many different kinds. Paula wins again!

  4. April 11, 2010 9:52 pm

    you have a trophy for the winner? that’s awesome! i have to admit, this cake sounds pretty darn tempting. who doesn’t love edible goo?

  5. April 12, 2010 2:31 am

    Ha, sounds like a really fun, anything goes sort of dessert! Seriously great name. :)

  6. April 12, 2010 4:12 am

    Congratulations to your mom! Sounds like an exciting and delicious competition all around.

  7. April 12, 2010 4:46 am

    Gorgeous! I am not a huge pineapple fan.. but I might be converted! :) Awesome trophy!

  8. grandy permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:38 am

    Great job hon! Isn’t my trophy beautiful? Love you:)

  9. sumshay permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:03 am

    Mmm… Pineapple and coconut. Once again, two ingredients that none of my family will eat, but that I love! In fact, I’m drooling just thinking about this. Is it mean-spirited to make dessert just for yourself? An all about me treat. Are moms allowed to do that (and not feel guilty)? :)

  10. sumshay permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:13 am

    And love that you included a picture of your mom–Congratulations to her on winning the throwdown this year.
    Michelle, better luck next year! You’ve got some stiff competition with Dani and your mom.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:24 am

    izzy – It was tasty, I must admit.

    Ingrid – The name is a little goofy, but the cake was good. And thanks for the compliment about looking like my mom. Really though, I look more like my dad. : )

    Monica – I can’t believe you’ve even heard of a goo cake! And I agree – my mom’s a looker. : )

    Grace – Of course there’s a trophy! This is no half-baked competition, my friend.

    Bittersweet – Our competition is a TON of fun

    Hungry Dog – Our throwdowns are always pretty tasty, to be sure.

    Amanda – The recipes we made could definitely bring a pineapple-hater to the good side. haha

    Mom – Huh. You aren’t gloating, are you? That is so not attractive. xoxo

    Michelle – Well, yeah! I can’t get on the coconut bandwagon with you but if I ever get the gumption to make the meringue cake, you can come over and we’ll split it. : ) Sound good?

    ~ Michelle

  12. April 12, 2010 9:26 am

    That is so great that there is a trophy involved. Sorry I havent been by your blog lately, I should be baking to blogging regularly now. Cant wait to see what you come up with next :)

  13. April 12, 2010 3:15 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS, MOM!!! Wow, she is really beautiful!! That trophy looks great as does the yummy cake!!! Woohoo!

  14. April 17, 2010 2:41 pm

    Aw, what suspense! I love that you guys had this competition. What a fun family and I agree with others that your mom is a lovely lady.

Leave a Reply

