Skip to content

Pizza sauce

April 15, 2010
tags: ,

Homemade Pizza Sauce

I’ve been making my own pizza dough now and then, so it seemed like I should be making my own sauce too.  I really don’t know why I’ve never done it before now, because it is so easy.  I’m not a fan of chunky pizza sauce, but if you are, I think you could easily substitute diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce.  This sauce is great on pizza and good for dipping too.

This recipe makes a lot of sauce, so be sure to have some containers to divide it up and freeze some for another time.

(This is the pizza dough recipe I use.)

{one year ago:  cranberry almond chicken salad}

Recipe:  Pizza Sauce

6 oz. can of tomato paste

29 oz. can of tomato sauce

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. onion powder

2 tsp. dried oregano

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

fresh pepper, to taste

Mix all ingredients together until thoroughly combined.  Spread on pizza dough when making pizza or warm to use as a dipping sauce.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 4:06 am

    Mmmm, just this picture of pizza alone makes me hungry for it! =)

    I have not yet attempted to make my own pizza or pizza sauce. One of these days I will get around to trying.

    Also, I have definitely thought about creating a second blog soley for my green tips. I have a lot of resources in just the two books I am using, for starters, and of course others. Maybe after the month of April is up, I will incorporate less green tips into my recipes and start that second blog! =)

  2. April 15, 2010 4:08 am

    Yum! This pictures makes me want a huge slice of pizza right now. I have never made my own sauce or dough but now I kind of want to try it out. Looks delish!

  3. April 15, 2010 4:19 am

    Thanks for posting this!! looks delish!

  4. April 15, 2010 8:00 am

    next up: homemade mozzarella. :)

  5. April 15, 2010 8:27 am

    I’m with Grace I want to try making my own cheese just not mozzarella. I want creme fraiche and mascarpone. Btw, you guys are still speaking right? I know you had issues in the past. :)

    Thanks for the recipe. I’ll let you know.
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:53 am

    Emily – I love your green tips and would definitely be a faithful reader of that second blog. Keep up the good work!

    Krystle – Thank you. It was so easy, really. I can’t believe I didn’t try it before now.

    April – Thanks. : )

    Grace – Uh. Hm. I don’t know about that.

    Ingrid – Yeah, me and mascarpone kissed and made up. After that lemon mascarpone parfait, I couldn’t stay mad. ; )

    ~Michelle

  7. April 16, 2010 9:25 am

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been meaning (for years I guess)to make my own pizza and I always thought it would be fun and simple to make the sauce too. Great idea!

  8. April 16, 2010 10:11 am

    Been using a can of San Marzano tomatoes straight up on my pie. Dump the can into a colander, give them a quick smash to remove a skosh of liquid, then spread right on the dough. Spice if you feel like it, but not necessary. Cheers!

  9. April 17, 2010 5:05 am

    I swear, you just read my mind. I was making a homemade pizza last night with store bought pizza sauce, and thought, “I’m not really into this sauce. I need to start making my own.” And here you are! Thanks!

  10. April 17, 2010 1:25 pm

    Yum! I will definitely try this recipe, I’m so sick of storebought pizza sauce.

  11. April 17, 2010 4:08 pm

    I know this post is about hte sauce but the pizza looks so good! yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Pizza Sauce v. 1
  2. Do you have a good pizza sauce recipe you can share?

Leave a Reply

