Skip to content

Dark chocolate peppermint patty brownies

April 16, 2010

Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patty Brownies

If you read this blog with any regularity, you might know about my love affair with peppermint and chocolate.  And when it’s peppermint and dark chocolate, just forget it.  I crumble.  I swoon.  And frankly, I eat way more than my fair share.  Self-control, and the desire to even have self-control, goes right out the window.

Case in point… these amazing dark chocolate peppermint patty brownies.  These turned out perfectly.  Rich with just the right balance of fudgey and gooey goodness.  And as if that isn’t enough, each brownie has a creamy kick of peppermint from a peppermint patty.  These would be pretty darn good without the peppermint patties too.  Or how about substituting peanut butter cups instead?  Oh baby!

{one year ago: Vietnamese Coffee Popsicles}

Recipe:  Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patty Brownies

(adapted from King Arthur Flour)

2 sticks unsalted butter

2 1/4 c. granulated sugar

4 large eggs

1 1/4 c. dutch-process cocoa  (I used Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa)

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. coffee extract  (or espresso powder)

1 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

15-18 snack-size Peppermint Patty candies

(I did not preheat my oven for these.)

Lightly spray a 9×13″ baking pan with cooking spray.  Line bottom with a piece of parchment paper and spray paper.  Set aside.

In a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl, or in a saucepan set over low heat, melt the butter, then add the sugar and stir to combine. Return the mixture to the heat (or microwave) briefly, just until it’s hot, but not bubbling; it’ll become shiny looking as you stir it. Heating this mixture a second time will dissolve more of the sugar, which will yield a shiny top crust on your brownies.

While the sugar heats a second time, crack the 4 eggs into a bowl, and beat them with the cocoa, salt, baking powder, coffee extract, and vanilla until smooth.   Add the hot butter/sugar mixture, stirring until smooth.

Add the flour and chips, again stirring until smooth. Note: If you want the chips to remain intact in the baked brownies, rather than melting in, let the batter cool in the bowl for about 20 minutes before stirring in the chips.

Spoon about half the batter into the baking pan and spread to evenly distribute.  Unwrap Peppermint Patty candies and gently press them into the batter.  Add the remaining batter and spread to cover candies.

Bake the brownies at 350 degrees for 28-30 minutes.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 1:19 am

    Mmmm you post some really fantastic stuff! These look soooo good. And the hot dogs in the mac n’ cheese sounds like a great idea. Oh and one more thing, I am making the rainbow pancakes for breakfast this morning. I will let you know how it goes! =)

  2. youngwifey permalink
    April 17, 2010 1:45 am

    Sounds delicious!!!

  3. LilGrape permalink
    April 17, 2010 5:08 am

    OH my! These sound Heavenly!

  4. April 17, 2010 6:16 am

    I am neither a mint nor a dark chocolate fun, BUT! I am drooling over this… . Michelle you never cease to amaze me. I had no idea people made these things! But you do, all the time, and they look and sound WONDERFUL. Pity I can’t taste them… maybe when I’m back in the US next time you could mail me some…?

  5. April 17, 2010 6:17 am

    oops meant to say FAN

  6. April 17, 2010 7:25 am

    Oh cool!! these brownies look fantastic!! I rarely incorporate any type of mint into my baking, so I should try this out. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  7. April 17, 2010 8:07 am

    not only are these so neat to behold, i’d be crazy about the taste too. yep, count me among the mint-chocolate lovers out there!

  8. April 17, 2010 9:29 am

    Oh YUM these sound fab with the dark rich chocolate paired with mint!

  9. April 17, 2010 4:11 pm

    When I first saw this recipe I thought about Martha’s recipe for brownies using peppermint patties, but all the reviews I’ve read said they weren’t very good.

    Then I realized you used KAF’s recipe which I’ve heard is excellent. I haven’t tried it before but I’m looking forward to it.

    Your brownies look killer!

  10. April 18, 2010 3:32 am

    Um, yes please! I could eat a trayful of these, no problem. I might have a stomach ache afterward but I think it would be worth it.

  11. April 18, 2010 9:01 am

    These look delicious! I think I am going to have to add them to my list of things to make this week.

  12. April 19, 2010 11:47 pm

    Yup I am a peppermint pattie lover too. Love how that patties look in the brownies- yum!

  13. April 22, 2010 5:33 am

    I’m on the fence about these. They do though look good! Send me one so I can see if I like it. :)
    ~ingrid

Trackbacks

  1. Faux Silk Cushion Covers, Dark Chocolate, 17 x 17 Inch, Pack Of 2 | Chocolate Recipes for You

Leave a Reply

