Skip to content

English muffin bread

April 19, 2010

English Muffin Bread

{Admittedly, my bread is height-challenged.  My fault entirely, so I hope you don’t let that deter you from giving this a try.}

I like English muffins.  I think they’re great for sandwiches at lunchtime or for breakfast.  I like ’em with butter or cream cheese or peanut butter and a sliced banana.  When I was a kid, the English muffin pizza was a favorite at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.  English muffins are just totally versatile and up for any topping you choose.

This is a great batter bread that requires no kneading.  I also added a healthy twist to my bread by using that amazing King Arthur white whole wheat flour.  I just love that stuff.  It bakes like all-purpose flour but has more fiber and good stuff than the regular whole wheat flour we’d been using.  The only glitch I ran into was coming up a little short on the yeast, but I had already started the whole thing and didn’t want to run to the store just for a packet of yeast so I used what I had.  The bread baked fine without the full amount, but obviously, it didn’t get a lot of height.  It did rise to the tops of my loaf pans though, so I was happy enough.  Next time I’ll plan it out better and make sure I have enough yeast ahead of time.  And I’ll definitely bake this again.  You get two nice loaves of bread with so little effort.

The bread is best toasted, just like your usual English muffins.  I think it’d be great in this recipe too.

{one year ago:  Mini Tie-Dyed Cheesecakes}

Recipe:  English Muffin Bread

(original recipe found at Blisstree)

5 1/2 c. flour

2 Tbsp. dry yeast

1 tbsp. honey

1/4 c. warm water

2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. baking powder

2 1/4 c. warm milk

butter and cornmeal for greasing and dusting two loaf pans

Prepare loaf pans by coating with butter or cooking spray, then dusting with cornmeal.

Mix the yeast, honey, and water in your mixing bowl.  Set aside.  In another bowl, whisk together salt, baking powder, and flour.

Add the milk and 1 c. of the flour mixture to the yeast mixture.  Blend well.  Add the remaining flour and beat until you have a soft, “goopy” dough.

Spoon the dough into your prepared pans..  Set aside in a warm place until batter has doubled and has risen to the top of your pan or a little above.  Dust the tops with cornmeal.  Heat oven to 425 degrees and bake for 15-20 minutes.  Loaf will sound hollow when tapped.  Bake up to 25 minutes for a crisper crust.

Cool and slice.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 6:25 am

    Brings back memories…we did EVERYTHING imaginable w/ English muffins growing up. Then we discovered English muffin bread at the store. Love the texture. Can’t wait to try making it myself! Also thanks for the “one year ago” recipes….I’m a new follower & it’s fun catching up that way! : ) Definitely going to try those tie-dyed cheesecakes this week!!

  2. April 19, 2010 2:51 pm

    This bread looks delicious. The eggs look great, too.

  3. pat permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:01 pm

    Looks like the perfect height!

  4. April 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    I saw a similar recipe a whileback and it was so intriguing to me because I’ve always wanted to make English muffins but don’t want to buy rings to make them. A loaf is pure genius!

    Height challenged or not, I’d so eat this!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:33 pm

    Monica – Here’s a link to my other English muffin post. You don’t need any special molds or anything to make muffins and they are so easy. You wouldn’t have to do the whole wheat version if you didn’t want to – just switch the flour. See what you think:
    https://oneordinaryday.wordpress.com/2009/04/03/whole-wheat-english-muffins/
    ~ Michelle

  6. April 19, 2010 10:34 pm

    as someone who seems to be on her tippy toes most of the time, i say there’s nothing wrong with being a little on the short side. :) great recipe.

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:37 pm

    Mangiodasola – Thank you. I have to agree on the egg part too – I love them with cheese and asparagus.

    Pat – That’s very nice of you to say. : )

    ~ Michelle

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:37 pm

    Grace – {smile} Thanks.

    ~ Michelle

  9. April 20, 2010 6:36 pm

    English Muffin Bread is a great way to enjoy the flavor and taste of English Muffins in a loaf form. Thanks for the recipe.

  10. April 21, 2010 5:32 am

    I’ve seen this recipe a few times and have wanted to give it a try. Thanks for the final push.

    I think yours looks perfect. I certainly didn’t think it wasn’t tall enough.
    ~ingrid

  11. April 21, 2010 11:55 pm

    I love the idea of English muffin bread! And isn’t white whole wheat flour the best? It’s a License to Bake, as far as I’m concerned.

    Gorgeous photos on your site!

  12. April 25, 2010 10:29 am

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  13. April 27, 2010 6:43 am

    I saw this on photograzing.com and had to come and check it out. I love english muffins. This bread looks easy enough – I am going to try it tonight.

  14. April 29, 2010 8:45 am

    I saw this on photograzing and I just had to come over. English muffins are one of my favorite things, so I can’t wait to give this a try!

Trackbacks

  1. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » English Muffin Bread

Leave a Reply

