Skip to content

I {heart} teachers. And giant cookies.

May 3, 2010

Sam’s Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie

This is Teacher Appreciation week!  I really do {heart} teachers.  I’m a teacher.  Jim’s a teacher.  My sisters are teachers.  Their husbands are teachers.  We are major supporters of public education and I think teaching is the most under-appreciated profession around.  So this week, I wanted to take a minute to ask you to share your appreciation for your child’s teacher.  Send in a thank you card… encourage your child to write his own… jot off an email.  Any small gesture will be truly appreciated.  Trust me on this.

My Sam decided he wanted to bake for his wonderful teacher.  This is a giant cookie that I’m pretty sure his teacher will share with the class, but what she’ll love about it is that it came from my sweet boy.  He did it all himself!  Is he awesome, or what?

I’m also loving/borrowing/lifting/being inspired by these great ideas.  And these.  And these too!  I’m in charge of staff appreciation at the kids’ school and our teachers are going to be treated to some of these cute things this week.  They totally deserve it.

Recipe:  Sam’s Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie

(adapted from the Nestle Tollhouse Cookie recipe)

2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 c. Crisco shortening

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in small bowl; set aside.  Beat Crisco, sugars, and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Spread cookie dough onto a pizza pan.  (Note:  Sam’s cookie baked up so enormously that it actually overflowed the rim of the pizza pan a little bit.  I guess the bigger the pan, the better.) Bake for 18-23 minutes.  Cool completely on wire rack before frosting.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. youngwifey permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:14 pm

    Hubster and I are teachers too. I’ve only had one student (who’s not an offspring of a teacher) ever aware of Teacher Appreciation Week. Although our PTA sends us a lovely fruit basket each year!

  2. May 3, 2010 3:19 pm

    Wow. Your son did a fantastic job!!! Goodness! The cookie looks yummy! Give me a slice, Sam!

  3. May 3, 2010 10:57 pm

    how sweet! interestingly enough, i did the same thing for my elementary school teachers–big cookie and all–and that was 15 years ago!

  4. May 4, 2010 12:34 am

    YUMMMMMM! I love me some chocolate chip cookie! This looks great and I am sure the teachers were so happy to get this :)

  5. May 4, 2010 4:27 am

    Chapeau to all of you! Hardest job out there, if you’re doing it right.

  6. May 4, 2010 12:54 pm

    I totally agree. Teachers deserve lots of love. It’s a tough job, and somebody definitely has gotta do it!

  7. May 4, 2010 2:22 pm

    Great job, Sam! This is such a thoughtful (and delicious) idea!

  8. May 4, 2010 10:01 pm

    Totally agree that there should be more appreciation for teachers!! I don’t have kids so can’t tell them to make something for their teacher, but I am very impressed by this huge cookie!!

  9. May 5, 2010 2:59 am

    Great job Sam!!

    Thanks for the ideas.

    I totally forgot! I’ve got to kick my butt into high gear for tonight for mine!
    ~ingrid

  10. grandy permalink
    May 5, 2010 2:51 pm

    Sam, I think that’s one big beautiful cookie! Love you:)

  11. May 5, 2010 7:27 pm

    He did such an awesome job on this! I bet his teacher loved it!

    I want a slice!

Leave a Reply

