Skip to content

Mango lemonade

July 7, 2010

Mango Lemonade

If you read my blog very often, you know I have a soft spot for cold summer drinks.  Combine that with the soft spot Jim has for anything with mango in it, and I knew he’d be up for making us a pitcher of mango lemonade.  {Let’s keep that little bit of manipulation via taste buds between us though, shall we?}

We had two bags of frozen mango and Jim used them instead of buying fresh.  He also substituted honey for some of the sugar, but if we ever make this again, it’ll be all sugar.  We had differing opinions of this lemonade.  I thought the honey really overpowered everything else, and I didn’t care for it all that much.  I’d like to try it again with no honey to give it a fair chance to blow me away, because I love the idea of a tropical lemonade.  Jim said he could taste the mango and didn’t get the honey until the very end of each sip.  He enjoyed it far more than I did.  Either way, we weren’t in it for the honey, so bring on the sugar.  I’d also suggest halving the recipe unless you have a crowd to enjoy it with.  It made a lot!

Recipe:  Mango Lemonade

(original recipe from Joylicious)

1 3/4 c. granulated sugar  (Original recipe says you may sub half the sugar with honey.  We did that, but I wouldn’t do it next time.  Maybe less than half, or maybe just stick with sugar.)

8 c. water

1 1/2 c. fresh-squeezed lemon juice

3 mangos, peeled and pitted  (We used 2 bags of frozen, thawed mango chunks)

In a saucepan, combine sugar and 1 c. water.  Bring to a boil and stir to dissolve sugar.  Allow to cool to room temperature.  Puree mangoes in a blender and strain through a sieve to remove any fibers.

In a pitcher (or a large bowl), stir together simple syrup, lemon juice, mango puree, and remaining 7 c. water.  Serve chilled or over ice.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 4:14 pm

    NO, you like summer drinks? I never knew.

    Sounds pretty good. I find that honey tends to overpower everything if you’re not careful.
    ~ingrid

  2. gcroft permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    Oooh, it reminds me of cocktails while on holidays!

  3. July 7, 2010 7:26 pm

    Hmmm… mango lemonade… it’s mango season here but somehow that one just doesn’t… sound so… sound so… like it would work… kwim?

  4. July 8, 2010 2:29 am

    Another pretty refreshing drink!

  5. Grandy permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:49 am

    It’s not Grandy. It’s EVIE!!!
    That looks SOOO good! And you know how I love the Mango Itailian Ice!

  6. July 8, 2010 10:22 am

    Sounds so refreshing!

  7. July 8, 2010 7:01 pm

    Mango lemonade maybe to go with THE icecream? Lol…. It does sound gewag and looks very refreshinf!!

  8. July 8, 2010 10:38 pm

    I love honey so I have a feeling I would like it a lot this way. It looks really great. I don’t drink pop and get bored with tea and water so I’m always looking for great drinks like this. Thanks for sharing!

  9. July 8, 2010 10:50 pm

    This looks so summery and refreshing… I will remember this next time Matthew’s grandmothers come to pay a visit.

  10. July 11, 2010 1:20 am

    I am on such a mango kick so please send a glass my way XD. Love this and what a charming photo.

Leave a Reply

