Skip to content

Sour cherry frozen yogurt

July 17, 2010

Sour Cherry Frozen Yogurt

There’s a little roadside stand just outside of town where you can buy sweet and sour cherries every summer.  We were driving past a couple weeks ago and decided to stop for some.  I was originally drawn to Lottie + Doof‘s sour cherry coffee cake, but then I got a look at their recipe for sour cherry frozen yogurt and I changed my mind.  I’m sure the coffee cake is delicious, but something cold was just too enticing to pass up.

This is really good stuff and it makes great milkshakes too.  We blended up the frozen yogurt with chocolate soy milk, then topped it with some whipped cream and chocolate drizzle.  Mmm.  Mmm.

{one year ago:  my favorite pea salad}

Recipe:  Sour Cherry Frozen Yogurt

(adapted from Lottie + Doof)

1 pound fresh sour cherries, stemmed and pitted

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup vanilla yogurt

2 drops almond extract

Put cherries in a medium saucepan with the sugar. Cover, bring to boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Cook until cherries are cooked through. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature.

Puree the cherries and their liquid in a blender with yogurt and almond extract until smooth. Chill for at least 2 hours or place in an ice bath to chill faster, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. grandy permalink
    July 17, 2010 9:48 am

    Everything looks great! love you..

  2. July 17, 2010 11:18 am

    Looks really good Michelle. And what a great photo, too!

    Hope you’re having a blast on vacation! Miss ya!
    ~ingrid

  3. July 17, 2010 11:48 am

    I’ve never had sour cherries, but I certainly like the looks of this frozen yogurt! That photo is stunning…summer in a jar!

  4. July 17, 2010 4:38 pm

    Oh my goodness!!! I must try this out. I bet it is amazing. I love how simple it is. YUM!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 18, 2010 5:53 pm

    Thanks everybody! : )

    (And we had a GREAT vacation, Ingrid!)

  6. July 19, 2010 4:29 am

    this is a new flavor to me–take note, tcby! and your black forest-esque creation sounds marvelous!

  7. July 19, 2010 12:07 pm

    This looks amazing!! I can’t wait to try this. I’m going to make some then throw some in my morning smoothie as well.

  8. July 19, 2010 8:03 pm

    such a pretty color. loving the sea shells in the background too :-)

  9. August 6, 2010 7:51 am

    Hi–this looks DELICIOUS. This is perhaps a naive question, but do you need an ice cream maker to make this?

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:36 am

    Marie – It’s a good question, actually. Here’s a link to some chocolate frozen yogurt I made before I had an ice cream maker. Take a look and see if it helps. http://tinyurl.com/253orhs
    ~ Michelle

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:37 am

    Thanks for all the nice comments, everybody!!!!

    ~ Michelle

  12. August 24, 2010 8:48 am

    I LOVE sour cherries, this frozen yogurt looks so good!

  13. December 20, 2010 9:52 pm

    I just did a post about this dessert too!
    yours look really scrumptious (:

Leave a Reply

