Skip to content

Sparkling pineapple limeade

July 27, 2010

Sparkling Pineapple Limeade

We’ve arrived at those sweet “lazy days of summer.”  In my family, at least.  Sam’s summer basketball is at an end, vacation is over, sports camps have come and gone.  Now it’s time for the kids to spend the day in the pool and for me to sit on the deck with a cold drink.  I’m hoping I’ll make a dent in my pile of books before school starts, and nothing goes with a good summer read like an icy beverage.  Well, maybe chocolate, but I digress.

I’m forever trying new summer drink recipes, so the pineapple I picked up this week became destined to meet the blender.  I pureed a small pineapple, then strained it through a fine mesh sieve.  The original recipe just called for pineapple juice, but I don’t find the canned juice to be as sweet and flavorful as a fresh pineapple.  I did, however, opt for using refrigerated lime juice.  I’ve never noted much difference between fresh and bottled in other summer ades, and I didn’t happen to have any limes.

I liked the flavor combination of this pineapple limeade.  It’s bright and refreshing, and the sweet pineapple comes through to counter the tartness of the lime.  Jim said he’d have preferred it with plain old water instead of the seltzer water.  At first I disagreed, but I think I’d prefer it sans bubbles too.  Next time.

Recipe:  Sparkling Pineapple Limeade

(adapted from Real Mom Kitchen)

1 small, ripe pineapple, peeled and cored  (or 3-3 1/2 c. of canned pineapple juice)

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. lime juice

1 liter sparkling water

lime and pineapple slices, to garnish

Cut prepared pineapple into chunks and puree in blender.  Strain pineapple puree with a fine mesh sieve.  Add sugar and lime juice; stir until sugar dissolves.  Add sparkling water and fruit slices just before serving.  Serve over ice.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Kiera permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:13 pm

    If I wanted to just use pineapple juice (knowing full well that it’s not as good as fresh pineapple, but being the lazy sort), how much should I use?

    Thanks. Sounds tasty!
    (And would it be totally wrong to add some vodka?)

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:24 pm

    Kiera – Thanks for the question. I meant to include that in the recipe, but forgot. If using canned juice, use 3-3 1/2 cups. I’ve updated the recipe to include the info. Thanks for the comment, and I totally agree that vodka would be a fun addition. Or maybe some pineapple rum? : )
    ~ Michelle

  3. July 27, 2010 5:56 pm

    Um, I’m sipping on hot coffee at work and how I now want to chuck it for a glass of your Pinneaple Limeade right now . . . . or at least be sitting by the pool!

  4. July 27, 2010 6:03 pm

    will have to add this to the rhubarbarita we’re going to make tonight.

  5. July 27, 2010 6:14 pm

    Pineapple is a great idea! Great for summer too!

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 27, 2010 8:52 pm

    12th Man – Rhubarbarita?? I hope you post a recipe because I am totally intrigued. Plus, it reminds me of Barbarino from Welcome Back, Kotter! haha
    ~ Michelle

  7. July 27, 2010 10:59 pm

    Oh my goooooooodness!!! This limeade looks so REFRESHING!! YUM! I’m bookmarking this recipe. Now I need to get my hands on some sparkling water and pineapples.

  8. July 27, 2010 11:02 pm

    Oh, and good luck tackling those books!! I need to do the same thing. Have you ever tried out audio books?

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:06 am

    Memoria – I’m not so much an audio book kinda girl, but my husband and son both enjoy them. I need to feel a book in my hands. You know how you eat with your eyes first? I have the same feeling about reading, I guess. : )

    Let me know if you make the pineapple limade… I’d love to know if you prefer it bubbly or not.

    ~ Michelle

  10. July 28, 2010 11:54 am

    Sounds great! (as does lounging by the pool…I’m clearly living the wrong life!) I’d add some booze though. Rum or vodka sounds about right.

    Enjoy your hot summer days!

  11. July 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    nothing, and i mean nothing, is as refreshing as fresh pineapple juice. this is a terrific drink idea!!

  12. July 29, 2010 2:35 pm

    Mmmm, so summery! I don’t know about where you are, but where I am, it’s freaking hot… so this looks utterly refreshing.

  13. August 1, 2010 8:38 pm

    Ooh I thought I commented on this one already. It looks so refreshing. I wish I had pineapple juice and I’d make this asaP!

  14. August 2, 2010 3:50 pm

    This sounds like a drink I’d like….sweet, cool, & refreshing. I’m back in steamy hot Fl and will need it!
    ~ingrid

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:01 am

    naomi – It’s too hot for hot coffee, though I’ve heard drinking hot beverages is supposed to somehow make you feel cooler.

    Maria – There’s another pineapple sitting on my counter right now. I love them!

    hungry dog – Trust me when I say the kids are in the pool and it’s not the kind of pool you can actually lounge around. : )

    Grace – I agree – I do love pinapple too.

    EZ – Yep… boilin’ hot. : )

    Monica – It was really refreshing, and perfect for this weather.

    Ingrid – I think you’d like it too. Glad you had a great trip.

    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Sparkling pineapple limeade « One Ordinary Day | Fruits Today

Leave a Reply

