Skip to content

Squeezing in one more day trip

August 10, 2010
tags:

Guess where we’ve been?  Yep, our nation’s capital.  We seem to do the whole tourist thing in Washington, D.C. about once every year or so.  We don’t live terribly far away and can park at the very end of one of the metro runs and hop on to head to the Mall and the Smithsonian museums.  Seems like we do something different each time, so it’s always worth the trip.

Our first stop was the United States Navy Memorial, which is across from the National Archives, where we were headed.  We were posing the kids for photos, while next to us, a young man in a Navy uniform was posing for a photo too.  My sweet boy walked over to this young man, held his hand out, and said, “Thank you for serving our country.”  They shook hands and the serviceman simply smiled and said, “You’re welcome.”  It was awesome.  I was so proud of Sam.  He’s seen people do the same for my godson when he’s been home on leave from the Army, and it clearly made an impression.  Definitely one of the best moments of the day.

While we were getting our pics of the White House, melting in the heat, and wondering how far we were from a metro station, we started to notice an awful lot of foot traffic around the place.  Kinda started to feel like we were missing something.  But those darn police officers wouldn’t let us get any closer.

Upon returning home, I’ve read that some friends and family of the Obama’s stopped by the White House on Sunday afternoon to do a little celebrating in honor of our good President’s birthday.  Hmm.  So perhaps that’s what all the hub-bub was about.  All I have to say is that I betcha someone got in big trouble when Barack realized we were practically right in the front yard and were forced to miss his party.  Heads are gonna roll, people.

But the day wasn’t a total loss.  Here’s what else we did.  We visited the National Gallery of Art, the Sculpture Garden, and the National Museum of American History.  We know how to squeeze a lot of fun into one day, let me tell you.  One of the highlights of my day was an exhibit in the museum.  Here’s a hint:

Recognize this kitchen?  This is the kitchen of one Miss Julia Child, friends.  It was awesome, and I felt like just pulling out a chair and sitting down.  Instead, I had to be content to press my nose against the glass, but it was close enough.  Her pegboards were there, with the shapes of her pots and pans drawn on them.  So very cool.  My mom insisted on getting a photo of me with Julia too.  {smile}

We all thought it would have been brilliant of those Smithsonian people if they’d have had one of those life-sized cutouts or something where it would look like you were really with Julia.  Why don’t people ask me before they go and do things?

We had a wonderful day, and are still totally exhausted.  For some reason, the kids seem to not be the least bit tired and I keep thinking a nap would be a really great idea.  Why is that, I wonder?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 3:10 pm

    Oh that looks like a ton of fun! I want to go see Julia’s kitchen and get a picture with her!!!! Me = jealous! And it totally brought tears to my eyes reading about your son walking up to the soldier. You have raised a good one lady! Too sweet!!

  2. August 10, 2010 3:12 pm

    Yay! It makes me so happy to see a pic of you, Michelle! I know what you look like but still.

    I got goosebumps thinking of Sam telling the Navy serviceman thank you. I’m proud with ya! I’m gonna tell my guys about it and hope they remember it when they come across someone in Uniform serving our country.

    I have to tell you that I’ve never seen Julia in action. You okay? When you fell did you hit your head? Yeah, I know that’s very weird for someone a food blogger!
    ~ingrid

  3. Bea permalink
    August 10, 2010 3:41 pm

    Thank you again for hosting us this weekend. Mom and I talked about the wonderful time we had and when I said I was sorry we didn’t get her to the Vietnam Memorial she said, “Well, maybe next time!” Dear Readers, if you knew our mom, you’d know that is a big deal. We usually can’t convince her to travel. Anyway, it was a great weekend and we all had our favorite parts. Mine was seeing the Declaration of Independence. Speaking of independence, my children are all taking an
    ‘independent vaction’ (sans Mom and Dad) at Aunt Shell’s house this week – she may be a little crazy by the end of it. Hopefully you’ll see a lot of Ayden’s cooking, Evie’s book reviews and Owen’s fun facts on the blog this week. In the meantime, I miss them like crazy and don’t know what I’ll do with myself all week.
    Thanks again for everything Shell. I love you. Give my babies a kiss for me.

  4. August 10, 2010 6:06 pm

    I’m so jealous! I wish I were right back in DC with you. But I know how hot their summers get- eek!

    I wish I could have gone to the Museum of American History but since there was a “blizzard” when we went most of them were closed. We did make it to the Space Museum and one other, but I misses Julia’s kitchen. Believe me, it was definitely on my list.

    Ingrid, you’re so weird :-)

  5. Grandy permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    You do tell a good story …And i really did have a good time. Thank Jim for me :)

  6. Grandy permalink
    August 10, 2010 6:12 pm

    I forgot , You & Julia look real good together!

  7. August 10, 2010 6:30 pm

    Sounds like a great trip! I would be proud if my boy did the same. Good going, Mom!

    Unlike Ingrid, I did not know what you looked like so I’m glad I do now.

  8. August 11, 2010 2:03 am

    My husband was just in DC last week and did the quickest 2 hour tour ever. He said it was so cool to see the White House in person. Looks like you guys also enjoyed your time!

  9. August 11, 2010 9:05 am

    How fun! I want to go and see Julia’s kitchen. Looks like a great trip, isn’t DC wonderful?

  10. August 11, 2010 8:31 pm

    That’s so sweet about your son. What a good kid. And, I love seeing the picture of you–now I know what you look like! Sounds like a great trip.

  11. August 11, 2010 10:28 pm

    Ah, how nice that you can go visit the Nation’s Capital once a year or so from where you are… I’d love to go there. I’ve been once, when I was about 13. It’s such a cool place. Matthew and I are traveling less so we can save money, reduce debt, and have a baby. I’d say that is fair trade for staying at home, even with the travel bug starts to itch at me. ;)

  12. August 12, 2010 4:06 pm

    Sam—what a sweet boy! I think I would have had tears bubble up in my eyes. I’ve never been to DC but hope to make it one day!

    Julia’s kitchen–so quaint and cozy, I’d love mine to look like that!

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 12, 2010 4:16 pm

    Maranda – Seeing Julia’s kitchen was fun. And I am a very proud mom.

    Ingrid – Really? You’ve never seen an old episode of Julia Child’s? You are so weird. But in a good way. LOL

    Bea – They’ve all been properly kissed upon and are having a great time. xo

    Monica – How could I have forgotten that you were in DC during the “blizzard??” Maybe you’ll get to go back when the weather is more cooperative so you get to check out the museums more.

    Mom – I’m glad you came!!!! Love you!!!!

    Naomi – Thanks. I was really proud of Sam.

    Alice – DC in 2 hours?? How’d he do it? We barely made a dent and were there all day.

    Cheri – DC is fun and totally worth the trip.

    Hungry Dog – We had a great day and I am happy to brag about my Sam a little. He’s a great kid.

    EZRecipes – You have the best reason ever for not traveling! : )

    Sara – Thanks for the sweet words for Sam.

    ~ Michelle

  14. August 13, 2010 6:48 pm

    Love the pic of you!
    We did a day in DC too but only did the butterflies and the dinosaurs at Natural History, and visited friends. That’s the most a four year old could manage, but I can’t wait to get back there. It’s my favourite US city and one of my favourite places in the world.

  15. August 15, 2010 4:25 pm

    Ack!!! You were ten miles from me! Wish I knew, you could have come for some supper! Looks like you had a great time!

  16. August 16, 2010 6:24 pm

    So jealous that you got to see Julia’s kitchen! How was it?! Amazing I’m sure. Great pictures!

  17. August 19, 2010 9:50 pm

    Hey, it’s YOU! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a picture of you! You’re so cute! Now I know what the lady behind all the recipe ideas that make me drool looks like! ;)

    Oh, your boy… So sweet.

Leave a Reply

