Skip to content

Easy ice cream cake

August 12, 2010

Easy Ice Cream Cake

Since our trip to D.C., I’ve found myself mothering 5 kids, instead of my usual 2.  Bea’s munchkins are enjoying a vacation with Aunt Shell without their mom in sight, and I do believe they’re all having a wonderful time.

But as our week is winding down, I realized that nothing has come out of my kitchen that’s the least bit blog-worthy, and I figured I ought to remedy that.  But.  And that’s a BIG but.  {If I said that out loud, Sam would totally crack up.} But how to bake something extraordinary when someone is always at my elbow asking for something?  I thought I found the answer in this easy ice cream cake.  It isn’t so much baking as assembling, so I thought I was in the clear.  I could create this fun cake for the kids and share something tasty with you guys at the same time.

Mind you, the only things I had to do here were unwrap ice cream sandwiches and whip some cream.  Easy enough.  Well, sure, if you don’t have a dog trying to steal watermelon pieces out of the trash, two little ones mad at one another because we only have one powerwing to play on, someone else asking me “would you rather” questions, and two quizzing me about their plans for the day.   Oh, and I also had my 20-year-old goddaughter texting me to see if she can come over for a visit today.  All during the 5 minute period of time it should take to put this cake together.

I managed to dust off my Super Mom cape and get the cake in the freezer, set a timer for the powerwing riders, decide I might choose 1 month without brushing my teeth over 6 months without bathing (think breath mints and Trident), reassure the oldest two that the plans they have today are going to turn out just fine in spite of the threat of rain, and let the 20-year-old know that we’d love to see her today.  Phew.  Deep breath.

I make that all sound like I wasn’t wishing I could just go back to bed, so don’t let me kid you.  I’m kinda tired.  I’d love to just go take a nap in my quiet bedroom with the door locked.  But I can’t and I won’t.  Instead, I’m going to go have a slice of this cake.


{one year ago:  mascarpone stuffed french toast with peaches and nectarines}

Recipe:  Easy Ice Cream Cake

(adapted from Real Simple)

1 c. heavy whipping cream

2 Tbsp. powdered sugar

ice cream sandwiches – enough to make 2 layers in your loaf pan – original recipe called for 6, but I needed 11

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. mini chocolate chips

Line a loaf pan with a piece of wax paper or parchment, allowing the paper to hang over both long sides.

In a large bowl, beat the cream, sugar, and vanilla extract until stiff peaks form.

In the bottom of the pan, arrange a single layer of ice cream sandwiches, cutting them to fit as necessary.  Spread with half the whipped cream.  Repeat with the remaining sandwiches and whipped cream.

Sprinkle the top of the cake with mini chocolate chips. Cover with plastic wrap and freeze until firm, at least 1 hour and up to 1 week.

Holding both sides of the paper overhang, lift the cake out of the pan and transfer to a platter. Discard the paper, slice the cake, and serve.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 3:19 pm

    Doesn’t it always seem the busier you are with things the more they “need” you? :)

    I make a similar ice cream cake. Mine has a few more steps than yours. I’m liking yours better! Plus, why didn’t I ever think to make it a loaf pan instead ofstacking ’em freehand! :)
    ~ingrid

  2. August 12, 2010 3:20 pm

    Seriously, Michelle?? I love this. What a great fast and easy kid pleaser, not to mention pleasing to adults as well, especially the maker-because some days it’s good to be lazy and still turn out super star desserts like this.

  3. Nate permalink
    August 12, 2010 3:55 pm

    Chocolate shaving on top would look more elegant than chocolate chips

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 12, 2010 4:06 pm

    Ingrid – Have you posted your version? I’d like to take a look!

    Naomi – Oh, definitely a kid pleaser. They loved it! (So did I.)

    Nate – Did you read the post? I’m lucky I got the chocolate chips sprinkled on top and being elegant is at the absolute bottom of my list of priorities, but thanks for the suggestion. LOL

    ~ Michelle

  5. Bea permalink
    August 12, 2010 5:28 pm

    Hey, how would you feel about keeping the kids one more week? You’re all having so much fun I hate to break up the party. :)

  6. August 12, 2010 7:53 pm

    Would you rather use chocolate chips on top and have it look “so-so” or use chocolate shavings and have it be “elegant”? Think about it?

    ha ha! I say next time, you whip up some homemade ice cream and make your own sandwiches, then go squeeze some utters and get some fresh cream to whip. THEN you can top it with chocolate curls, not shavings (shavings are so not classy enough). That would be awesome. ANd make it happen in 5 minutes flat. got that?

    Love you Michelle!

  7. Grandy permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:36 pm

    I think you’re a winner all the way around!

  8. August 13, 2010 1:58 am

    I do hope that you allowed yourself 2 slices after your busy day.
    :-) Mandy

  9. August 13, 2010 10:11 am

    This looks awesome, Michelle! And what a great idea to use ice cream sandwiches. Thanks for letting us in on it.

  10. August 13, 2010 10:47 am

    i am always so nervous working with ice cream, i had an oreo ice cream sandwich disaster just this week, but you’ve gave me courage and I am totally going to give this a try. it looks so good.

  11. August 13, 2010 3:53 pm

    This looks ridiculously delicious!!! :) I absolutely LOVE the chocolate chips!!

  12. August 13, 2010 5:33 pm

    i so enjoy ice cream sammies, and this is quite a unique and delightful way to use them. it’s gorgeous!

  13. August 13, 2010 6:35 pm

    This would be funny if I weren’t feeling your *pain*. Five kids… yup been there… it’s fun but it’s a hard work type of fun… your sister will take yours in return, right?

  14. August 14, 2010 1:44 pm

    This ice cream cake is calling my name. I saw something similar on “1,000,000 Kids and Counting” (LOL) that I would like to make from scratch (minus the ice cream sandwiches). Anyway, have fun with the kids!

  15. August 14, 2010 2:46 pm

    This is flat-out awesome.

  16. August 15, 2010 11:21 pm

    I see Monica got her rollin’ pin out! :)
    ~ingrid

  17. August 17, 2010 9:05 pm

    AUGH! You and your dessert dishes, you just kill me! This looks sooooo good. I really need to make dessert dishes more often. Somehow it just doesn’t usually factor into my meal planning. Time to make a change?

  18. August 31, 2010 2:50 pm

    This looks fantastic. Im going to try this! By the way, I really like your blog, nice job!:)

  19. carol brentlinger permalink
    February 25, 2012 8:35 pm

    I have made this before but just used chocolate syrup drizzled on top

Trackbacks

  1. The Worst Food Fails (And How To Never Fail Again!) | Soul Mex

Leave a Reply

