Skip to content

Frozen yogurt creamsicles

August 15, 2010

Frozen Yogurt Creamsicles

We’ve been getting a lot of use out of our new popsicle molds.  We’ve made lots of juice pops and lemonade pops, but I wanted to try making a version of a creamsicle.  I think they turned out pretty well, but they got mixed reviews from the kids.  The yogurt gives these a slight tang that not all of them were fans of, but you could easily substitute the yogurt with softened ice cream and go for the real deal.  But these are so good for you, that you can completely justify having popsicles for breakfast!

{one year ago:  cannoli ice cream}

Recipe:  Frozen Yogurt Creamsicles

2 c. orange juice

2 c. vanilla yogurt

2-3 Tbsp. powdered sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients until well mixed.  Pour into popsicle molds and freeze until firm.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 1:21 pm

    Oh these look luscious. I love these myself.
    I should have bought myself a set of those molds when I was up in the USA.
    Bebel would have loved to make custom popsicles too…

  2. August 15, 2010 3:55 pm

    Delish! Perfect summer treat.

  3. August 15, 2010 5:45 pm

    this is the perfect cool-me-down treat. not too hard on the ol’ waistline, either!

  4. August 15, 2010 11:27 pm

    You go….I have new Popsicle molds from like three years ago that I still haven’t used and you’ve used yours how many times already? Monica tried guilt tripping me into making some for the kids last year. :) It didn’t work. I need to use mine already. Your popsicles looks super cute and sound good. Forget the kids I think I’d really like ’em and yogurt makes them healthy, right? I’m trying to cut back.
    ~ingrid

  5. August 16, 2010 9:13 am

    might have to invest in a popcicle set … maybe a way to use the leftover rhubarb syrup. plus, caught American Graffiti the other day, and if popcicles are good enough for the Wolfman, they’re good enough for me!

  6. August 16, 2010 1:37 pm

    I love the taste of orange with dairy. These look too tasty :).

  7. August 16, 2010 3:53 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  8. August 17, 2010 8:48 am

    Oh, I would totally love these! I think the yogurt tang would send them over the top! I’ll have to try this yet.

  9. mamajulie permalink
    August 17, 2010 8:57 am

    I hate people who leave these kinds of comments, but I have been looking for popsicle molds all summer (Walmart, Target, Sam’s Club) and couldn’t find any. Could you tell me where you bought your molds? I am dying to try both this and the fudgsicle recipe you posted earlier this summer.
    Thank you so much.

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    MamaJulie – I’ve had my eye on these popsicle molds all summer on amazon.com, but I actually ended up finding them at a store called Ross for $7, so I was pretty happy. They’re Tovolo molds and they have lots of different shapes available. They’re awesome because they come with a special base so they don’t tip over in the freezer. I love, love, love them!
    ~ Michelle

  11. August 17, 2010 9:07 pm

    I do not have any popsicle molds. Maybe I need to think about this in the near future when I have kids. These popsicles look great! I bet it’s so much fun for the kids to have homemade popsicles!

  12. August 18, 2010 2:48 am

    Michelle, I think we need to gang up on Ingrid and get her to make popsicles for her kids. ha! We need to apply some good ol’ fashioned peer pressure!

    i haven’t made popsicles this year, I can’t stop making ice cream. i better get with it.

  13. mamajulie permalink
    August 18, 2010 3:24 pm

    Michelle–thanks for your answer. I think of Amazon for big things, but never the little things like this. I’m ordering right now.

  14. August 23, 2010 11:31 am

    Those molds look awesome!! Do these taste like an orange julius?…..cuz my grandma would probably kill for one these. You rock!

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 23, 2010 8:31 pm

    Kirsten – I think the popsicles are much more like a cremesicle than an orange julius, but with a little bit of tanginess. I bet the orange julius would make a great popsicle though!
    ~ Michelle

  16. July 29, 2011 2:53 pm

    I just put some of these in the freezer & I would totally drink this out of the container I mixed it in, can not wait for them to freeze! Instead of using powdered sugar I used a dash of stevia (maybe 1/8 teaspoon). YUM, thanks :-)

Leave a Reply

