Skip to content

Pumpkin waffles with cinnamon honey butter

September 16, 2010

Pumpkin Waffles with Cinnamon Honey Butter

Well, Jim did it again.  Cooked us up a big batch of these pumpkin waffles, while I played sous chef and supervisor.  Yes, I’m very multitalented.  Okay, I admit there wasn’t all that much work involved on my end of things, but my cinnamon honey butter was quite tasty.  The waffles were good too, but we’ve gotten kind of spoiled by Emeril’s waffle recipe (sorry, AB!) and we just weren’t feeling that kind of love for these.

I did find that they made a yummy base for some delicious dulce de leche frozen yogurt, which I’ll be passing along soon.

{one year ago:  cinnamon popcorn}

Recipe:  Pumpkin Waffles with Cinnamon Honey Butter

(waffle recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
4 large eggs, separated
2 cups well-shaken buttermilk
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
Vegetable oil for brushing waffle iron or cooking spray
Cinnamon honey butter (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 250°F and preheat waffle iron. Sift together flour, brown sugar, baking powder and soda, salt, and spices. Whisk egg yolks in a large bowl with buttermilk, pumpkin, and butter until smooth. Whisk in dry ingredients just until combined.

In a mixing bowl with a whisk attachment, whisk the egg whites until they hold soft peaks.  Fold them gently into the waffle batter, until just combined.

Brush waffle iron lightly with oil and spoon batter into waffle iron, spreading quickly. Cook according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Transfer waffles to rack in oven to keep warm and crisp.

Recipe:  Cinnamon Honey Butter

(from Picky Cook)

3 Tbsp. room temperature butter

2 Tbsp. honey

1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

pinch of salt

Stir until fully incorporated and smooth.  Serve with pumpkin waffles.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 1:25 pm

    It’s like all the best things about pumpkin bread with the addition of maple syrup! Score – these look mouthwatering delicious.

  2. September 16, 2010 1:55 pm

    have made pumpkin muffins, Bundt cakes, cup cakes, bread, and all sorts of cookies and bars … but never waffles. that will soon be remedied! thanks and cheers!

  3. September 16, 2010 10:34 pm

    Oh my, now these sound delicious! I will definitely have to try out that cinnamon honey butter soon! :)

  4. September 16, 2010 10:47 pm

    Adding pumpkin to stuff never hurts, and I think adding it to waffles it probably one of the most genius ideas ever! Fall cannot come fast enough!

  5. September 16, 2010 11:50 pm

    What a fabulous recipe. I am not able to get canned pumpkin though so I will have to cook fresh – oh well.
    :-) Mandy

  6. September 17, 2010 11:28 am

    These certainly sound and look delicious–and that’s saying something, since I am generally not a big waffle person. I’m very interested in these though!

  7. September 17, 2010 5:01 pm

    Cinnamon honey butter?! This sounds amazing. I’ve made pumpkin pancakes multiple times but there’s something irresistible about the way waffles catch every delicious bit of syrup and butter.

  8. September 18, 2010 3:07 am

    PLEASE tell me that you also applied the marvelous butter when you topped these nifty waffles with that frozen yogurt. i think that’d be outstanding in combination.

  9. September 19, 2010 2:46 am

    Yes, you and Jim have done again, another fab recipe. I love this idea and I love that you have paired it with some cinnaomon honey butter.

  10. HollyC permalink
    September 19, 2010 1:43 pm

    I love pumpkin! We had these for breakfast, they were delicious! there were only two of us and it makes a ton of batter, so we will probably have these multiple times this week! Thanks for the recipe

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 19, 2010 5:20 pm

    Holly – Thanks for stopping back to comment! Glad you liked the recipe!
    ~ Michelle

  12. September 19, 2010 10:34 pm

    Delish! These look so good. I love the melted butter in the waffle pockets. I just bought a (used) cookbook last night simply because of a pumpkin waffle. I’m looking forward to trying them.

    Would you mind passing along your favorite Emeril waffle recipe?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 21, 2010 3:14 pm

    For those of you who are curious, here’s a link to Emeril’s Belgian waffle recipe. It’s amazing. http://tinyurl.com/6asay4
    ~Michelle

  14. September 23, 2010 11:24 am

    That’s it. I’m coming over. I have to have these NOW!

  15. September 26, 2010 11:28 am

    I need a waffle maker though I have no desire to MAKE waffles. I just WANT to EAT waffles. :)

    I love compound butter! I’ve made all kinds and they’ve all been super yummy. I’m gonna add cinnamon to my honey one next time.
    ~ingrid

  16. October 5, 2010 10:47 am

    Somehow I missed these last month, but I have bookmarked them to try. They look soooo good. Also, I just noticed your new header photo, it is super cute! Love it!

Leave a Reply

