Skip to content

Apple cinnamon oatmeal

September 29, 2010

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

If you’re looking for a healthy, hearty way to start your day, you can’t go wrong with this oatmeal.  It’s everything an Autumn breakfast should be – apples, walnuts, cinnamon.  Smells good, tastes good, and it’s good for ya.  Enough said.

{one year ago:  pumpkin whoopie pies}

Recipe:  Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

(from The Craving Chronicles)

1/3 cup oats

1/4 of an apple, peeled and diced

2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

1/4-1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1/3 cup milk

1/4 cup water

pinch of salt

dried cranberries (optional)

Place oats, apple, walnuts, cinnamon and salt in a deep, microwave-safe bowl.  Stir in milk, water and maple syrup.  Microwave for 2 minutes.  Stir.  Microwave an additional 30 seconds.  Top with additional walnuts and dried cranberries.  (Oatmeal will thicken as it stands.)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 8:09 am

    I can’t do oatmeal anymore, I ate so much of it as a kid, but this actually looks tempting!

  2. September 29, 2010 8:11 am

    have learned one thing about oatmeal: every microwave is different. took me a whole summer of tinkering but mine comes out best at 40% for 4:30. I know, I know, that defeats the purpose of the microwave, taking a whole four minutes … but I use that time to get my coffee, clean the knife and cutting board, etc.

    cheers!

  3. September 29, 2010 10:50 am

    I love old fashioned oatmeal (cooked on the stove). I’ve never made old fashioned oats in the microwave, but I’d try this. I’m not a fan of packaged instant oatmeal (too sweet), but I can control the sugar in this recipe.

  4. September 29, 2010 11:52 am

    Mmm what a perfectly comforting fall oatmeal. Exactly what I’d want on a chilly fall or winter morn.

  5. September 29, 2010 1:16 pm

    You’ve convinced me to try oatmeal for breakfast again. I rarely ate it as a kid and even then it had to be covered with brown sugar.

  6. September 29, 2010 7:44 pm

    Oatmeal has never looked good to me, until now!

  7. September 30, 2010 1:36 pm

    Can I get a seat at your table? I love oatmeal and you manage to make everything look so delish.

    I love this photo, the lighting, the oatmeal, i love it all!

  8. October 1, 2010 4:41 pm

    This looks like the perfect autumn breakfast. Yummy.

  9. October 2, 2010 12:46 am

    Oh, Michelle you scared me! For a second when I first saw the photo I thought those were raisins….though I’m not sure craisins are much better. lol

    I wonder if the kiddos would like this kicked up oatmeal…..
    ~ingrid

  10. October 4, 2010 8:35 am

    I was never a big oatmeal eater until I started running and then…I needed the energy, so I where did I turn?…oatmeal! I love this combination. I LOVE dried cranberries in mine. The addition of apples sounds delicious!

  11. October 7, 2010 4:01 am

    What- no raisins? ha ha!

Leave a Reply

