Skip to content

Dulce de leche frozen yogurt & waffle ice cream sandwiches

October 2, 2010

Dulce de Leche Frozen Yogurt

I have to tell you straight out, that this is probably one of the best frozen yogurts I’ve ever had.  I’m kind of new to the whole dulce de leche scene {gasp!}, but coming to the party late is better than not coming at all, right?  I’m now officially a fan, and I’m sure I’ll find some tasty recipes to make with it in the future.  And if not, I’m okay with this one.  The first time I made it, I toasted some pecans to sprinkle over the top.  The second time, it became the chilly center of some pumpkin waffle ice cream sandwiches.  There hasn’t been a third time yet, but there will be.

{one year ago:  caramel apple cookies}

Recipe:  Dulce de Leche Frozen Yogurt

(adapted from Joy of Baking)

1 c. dulce de leche**

1 1/2 c. vanilla or plain yogurt

3/4 c. heavy whipping cream

1/4 c. milk

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/8 tsp. kosher salt

In a large bowl, whisk all the ingredients together until smooth and well blended.  Cover and refrigerate several hours OR place your bowl in a larger bowl that has been filled halfway with ice water.  When mixture is thoroughly chilled, pour into your ice cream machine and follow manufacturer’s directions.  Transfer to freezer container and freeze.

**How to make Dulce de Leche:

Remove the label from a can of sweetened condensed milk.  Place the unopened can in a large pot filled with water, making sure the can is completely submerged.  Bring pot of water to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer.  Simmer can for 2-3 hours, adding more water as needed to keep can fully covered with water at all times.  After 2 or 3 hours, remove can from water and allow to cool completely before opening.

Let me tell you that Jim had a fit over this.  He insisted I do it only when he and the kids were out of the house in case the can exploded.  I was totally unharmed during the making of this dulce de leche, and I have friends who cook this on a regular basis, however Carnation does not advice using this method.  Consider this a disclaimer.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 9:35 am

    waffles and yogurt…breakfast food….so then, this waffle sandwich would be good right now with a cup of coffee? :) Seriously this frozen yogurt sounds incredible!!

  2. October 2, 2010 10:43 am

    Yay, you just said I’m a friend! I am one of the “friends” you referred to right? Right, lol?

    Your ice cream sandwich looks even better than I imagined.

    Hope you have a a wonderful weekend!
    ~ingrid

  3. Fiona permalink
    October 2, 2010 7:16 pm

    Here is Australia the Dulce de Leche is available commercially in the supermarket from the makers of condensed milk (Nestle Top’N’Fill Caramel). All of us who’ve been boiling the cans are ecstatic. Heaps easier!

  4. October 3, 2010 9:15 pm

    Oh my goodness!!!!!!!! That looks amazing!!!!

  5. October 4, 2010 8:30 am

    Wow, what an awesome combination! I love frozen yogurt and the dulche de leche sounds delicious!

  6. October 4, 2010 11:42 am

    Wow, this is insane. What a great idea! I usually just buy the dulce de leche though.

  7. October 4, 2010 12:04 pm

    Waffle ice cream sandwiches? Serious? Oh. My. GOSH. Heaven.

  8. October 4, 2010 12:06 pm

    Ah, I love this dulce de leche making process. Since there its made with waffle, I can have it for breakfast, right?

  9. October 4, 2010 1:20 pm

    I love making my own dulce de leche in the pressure cooker. These sandwiches look amazing.

  10. October 4, 2010 6:54 pm

    MMM. That is such a yummy thing to put in our bellies. I never thought of putting dulce de leche in frozen yogurt before. I especially like it sandwiched in between two waffles…

  11. October 4, 2010 9:13 pm

    My hubby is from New Jersey and grew up eating waffle and ice cream sandwiches at the Boardwalk. This sounds like a much healthier version… one I will definitely have to try.

  12. October 5, 2010 2:02 am

    Michelle! the waffle sandwiches! these look amazing. i think i need to have a ppl over just to eat these.

    and I am a DDL fanatic. I have to try hard not to open a can when I’m the only one in the house. Again, I need to have ppl over.

    love the little ghost-ie guys in your header.

  13. October 5, 2010 5:06 am

    YUM. Sweet satisfaction!!

  14. October 5, 2010 10:46 am

    These ice cream sandwiches look FANTASTIC! Omg! However, I am even more intrigued by the pumpkin waffles so I am headed there next! ;)

  15. October 5, 2010 4:47 pm

    That just looks amazing… And believe me when I say that you’re not the only one who had not tried dulce de leche before. I still have to start on my first try, but I do have to say that I am a little unsure. Thanks for describing the procedure though; it sounds scary but I am sure it will be fine..

  16. October 7, 2010 4:03 am

    This sandwich looks so much better than I ever anticipated. So good…although I think the chocolate chips add to the purtiness :-)

    Am I the other half of the anonymous “friends”? ha!

  17. June 27, 2012 9:08 pm

    I tried to find an email address to contact you, but couldn’t. Do you mind if I use your photo for the ice cream/waffle sandwich on my blog? Will definitely give credit! Thanks!

  18. oneordinaryday permalink*
    June 28, 2012 6:40 am

    Amy – Thanks for asking before using my photo. Yes, you may post my photo on your blog as long as you link back to One Ordinary Day. I checked out Not Your Average Baby Blog this morning. Great blog :).
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers