Skip to content

Peanut butter cookies ~ with 4 ingredients

October 8, 2010

Peanut Butter Cookies

I’d mentioned that I won a copy of Abby Dodge’s cookbook, Desserts 4 Today, which is an entire book dedicated to making delicious desserts with just 4 ingredients.  I’m telling you, this book is a must-have.  Most importantly, the desserts are delicious.  I also love that the recipes are fast and easy, and even though I’m only using 4 ingredients, I’ve been pleased with how much each recipe yields.

These cookies are rich and peanutty, and were a huge hit with the kids.  Though they were kinda sticky going from spoon to baking sheet, they baked up perfectly and are just great alongside a cold glass of milk.

{one year ago:  broccoli salad}

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Cookies

(from Desserts 4 Today)

3/4 c. peanut butter, smooth or crunchy

3 Tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature

2/3 c. granulated sugar

1 large egg

Heat the oven to 350 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silpat sheet.

Beat the peanut butter, butter, and sugar in a medium bowl on low speed until blended, about 1 minute.  Add the egg.  Beat on medium-low speed just until blended, about 1 more minute.

Drop by tablespoonful onto prepared cookie sheet.  Bake 12-14 minutes, until lightly browned around edges.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.  Top with chocolate drizzle, if desired.

(To make chocolate drizzle, melt 1/3 c. chocolate chips with 1 1/4 tsp. vegetable oil at 30 second intervals in the microwave on low power.  Stir every 30 seconds until melted and smooth.)

Makes 20 cookies.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 9:08 pm

    I think that I need a copy of that book. :-)

  2. October 8, 2010 10:33 pm

    Do these get crunchy at all, or do they stay like almost half-baked, you know what I mean? I’ve been looking for a PB cookie that doesn’t get crunchy.

  3. October 9, 2010 4:11 am

    What perfect looking cookies and I love all recipes quick and easy!
    :-) Mandy

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 9, 2010 6:34 am

    Catastrophysicist – I know exactly what you mean because I don’t like a crunchy cookie and I always take cookies out of the oven a little undercooked. :) I left these pb cookies in for the full time and they weren’t crunchy. Hope you let me know if you try them.
    ~ MIchelle

  5. October 9, 2010 1:24 pm

    You really can’t ask for more in a cookie–delicious, pretty, and (less than) a handful of ingredients!

  6. October 9, 2010 1:46 pm

    I make these cookies all the time! They are so good!
    Also I just wanted to let you know that i really love following your blog and i would like to give you some awards that you greatly deserve!
    You can find them here: http://mrsgoldilocks.blogspot.com/2010/10/blog-awards.html

  7. vickeroo permalink
    October 9, 2010 3:20 pm

    Can’t wait to try this today! Are these crunchy or chewy?

  8. October 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    Does it count as a one-ingredient recipe when I eat the peanut butter straight out of the jar? :)
    I like the chocolate drizzle, too.

  9. October 9, 2010 7:57 pm

    These are fabulous!!!! I love the simplicity- super peanut! yum!

  10. October 10, 2010 12:05 am

    Mmm I can’t resist a good PB cookie. And with that drizzle of chocolate to top it off? Heaven.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:17 am

    Vickeroo – The cookies were more on the chewy side, but if you like them crunchier, you can bake them a couple additional minutes.
    ~ Michelle

  12. October 10, 2010 11:40 am

    I love recipes with few ingredients! A friend loaned me a “4 ingredient” cookbook, I’ve staked claim to it for about a year now and he hasn’t asked for it back yet… I posted several recipes from it last winter. These cookies look fantastic!

  13. October 10, 2010 2:37 pm

    Is it really so easy? Wow, even I could make these. And I love pb cookies… .

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:20 am

    JenH – Thank you for the kind comments and for the great blogging awards!!! I really appreciate it!
    ~ Michelle

  15. October 11, 2010 12:31 pm

    Okay, time to add another peanut butter recipe to my collection for bribery. As you know, my husband and little boy love peanut butter sweets.

  16. October 16, 2010 3:55 pm

    I’ve been to the bookstore twice and have not seen this book. I’m gonna have to remember to ask about it next time.
    ~ingrid

  17. October 18, 2010 5:05 am

    wow–that’s totally the cookbook for me! i’ll be looking into that posthaste, especially if the majority of the recipes are as wonderful as this one!

  18. vickeroo permalink
    October 21, 2010 9:58 pm

    Just made these the other day and it was a HUGE success!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

