Skip to content

Root beer pulled pork sliders

November 1, 2010

Root Beer Pulled Pork Sliders

I made this quite a while ago, and it was one of those recipes that I saw on someone’s blog and made almost immediately.  I tend to bookmark a lot of things, then go back and make them eventually, but occasionally a recipe gets into my head and I can’t stop thinking about it.  Case in point – root beer pulled pork sliders.  Oh yeah.

The pork cooked in the crockpot, the crisp broccoli slaw was a snap to mix up, and the little slider rolls got a toasting on the grill.  It all came together for a really good sandwich, and I especially loved the crunch of the slaw on top.  Definitely a keeper.

{one year ago:  kale, white bean, and pasta soup}

Recipe:  Root Beer Pulled Pork Sliders

(from Chaos in the Kitchen)

5 lb. boneless pork shoulder, cut into large chunks

2 Tbsp. oil

salt and pepper to season

12 oz. can root beer

slider rolls

favorite bottle of barbecue sauce

broccoli slaw (recipe follows)

Season pork with salt and pepper.  Heat oil over medium heat in a large, heavy pot.  Sear pork pieces a few at a time until all sides are brown and caramelized.  Transfer pork to slow cooker.  Pour root beer over pork and turn crockpot on low.  Cook 8-20 hours.

Before serving, use two forks to separate and shred meat.  Moisten pork with barbecue sauce, to taste.  To serve, brown rolls on grill or under broiler, then top with pork and broccoli slaw.

Recipe:  Broccoli Slaw

pre-packaged bag of broccoli slaw

1/4 c. mayonnaise, 2 Tbsp. buttermilk

1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, or lime juice

pinch of sugar

pinch of salt

pepper, to taste

Whisk dressing together.  Toss to coat broccoli slaw at least 30 minutes before serving with pulled pork sandwiches.  Chill slaw until ready to assemble sliders.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 7:06 pm

    Nothing is more comforting than a pulled pork sandwich and this one looks like it won’t disappoint.

  2. November 1, 2010 7:32 pm

    I use Coke, does the same thing, and in corned beef, ginger ale.
    Yours look delicious!

  3. November 1, 2010 8:31 pm

    How interesting! I LOVE pulled pork, and I am intrigued by the flavor the root beer adds! It looks delicious!

  4. November 1, 2010 9:46 pm

    You have made me really hungry and I’m just heading to bed. I’ll be dreaming of these sandwiches.
    I make french dip sandwiches using ginger ale and beef broth in the crockpot.

  5. November 1, 2010 10:40 pm

    This sound awesome-ly easy and delicious. Love the added broccoli slaw for texture!

  6. November 2, 2010 2:27 am

    I love the idea of broccoli slaw – yummy!
    :-) Mandy

  7. November 2, 2010 9:46 am

    I can’t wait to try this!!!

  8. November 2, 2010 12:33 pm

    Looks delicious.:) Made some pulled pork barbecue last night.:)

  9. November 2, 2010 3:04 pm

    I’ve stumbled upon a few Coke-based BBQ recipes, but this might be the first root beer, or at least is the first root beer that I recall.

    Cheers!

  10. November 3, 2010 12:04 am

    Good grief. This sounds and looks amazing. I love root beer anything. Now, how do I do it without a slow cooker?

  11. November 3, 2010 9:31 am

    Hmmm. This might be reason enough for me to go get a crockpot.

  12. cindyderosier permalink
    November 3, 2010 2:38 pm

    OK, it’s in the crockpot! I have high hopes for dinner tonight. Thanks for the recipe.

  13. November 3, 2010 4:37 pm

    So cool to see a variation. I do something like this with coke and chili sauce, then I throw in some paprika to make it a quick goulash. I will have to try this as we all love rootbeer.

  14. November 3, 2010 4:47 pm

    What a fascinating flavoring for meat. Looks great, Michelle.

  15. November 4, 2010 2:57 am

    I’ve been waiting for this post since you told me you made them. They look delicious. I’m not a fan of cole slaw, but I love me some broccoli slaw.

    BTW, Your header is adorable. Such a great idea!

  16. November 4, 2010 9:55 am

    I’m so hungry…

  17. November 4, 2010 1:29 pm

    That sandwich is definitely calling my name!

  18. November 4, 2010 3:17 pm

    Very nice! I’m going to grab a can of root beer on my way home. I alraedy have the pork tenderloin defrosted and ready to go for tomorrow. Thanks for sharing Michelle!
    ~ingrid

  19. November 4, 2010 3:18 pm

    Duh! I meant to tell you I like your new header!
    ~ingrid

  20. November 5, 2010 7:58 am

    Congratulations on being featured on FoodPress!!!

  21. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 5, 2010 8:04 am

    TryIt – Hey, thanks for the heads-up, because I didn’t have a clue. Actually, I’ll be honest and tell you that I didn’t even know what Food Press was until a couple minutes ago. LOL
    ~ Michelle

  22. janemaynard permalink
    November 5, 2010 11:43 am

    hello! I see someone already filled you in, but I just wanted to let you know that we featured this post as a “Todays Specials” post on the FoodPress.com homepage today! (and no worries – FoodPress launched just this week!) anyway, the sliders look delicious and love the idea of putting root beer in the pork!

    thanks!

  23. November 5, 2010 2:16 pm

    Yum! Those sound delicious. I love broccoli slaw. Can’t wait to make these :)

  24. November 5, 2010 4:14 pm

    This looks finger lickin’ good!!! :) :)

  25. November 6, 2010 5:51 pm

    Now this recipe is stuck in MY head!

  26. November 6, 2010 6:20 pm

    okay, now I won’t be able to shake this recipe either, we love pulled pork, and with root beer, oh my, perfect, thanks!

  27. November 6, 2010 8:11 pm

    I will have to try it out. I love sliders with a nice slaw on top. hmmmm may have to use Dr. Pepper

  28. November 6, 2010 11:29 pm

    Joe made this on Friday. It was really good! Thanks for sharing, Michelle!
    ~ingrid

  29. November 6, 2010 11:53 pm

    Root beer? My husband would love this. Can’t wait to surprise him.

  30. November 7, 2010 1:46 am

    Mmmmm, Yummy… looks like an interesting recipe. It looks like I will try this out soon!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  31. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 7, 2010 6:54 pm

    Queen of One – Dr. Pepper would be great with this pulled pork recipe too! Hope you love it as much as we did.
    ~ Michelle

  32. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 7, 2010 7:04 pm

    MissRed – The sliders were pretty delish and I send out many thanks to the blogger who came up with the recipe. Who would have guessed – root beer! The slaw just knocked it out of the park. Hope you like them too!
    ~ Michelle

  33. November 9, 2010 8:05 pm

    What a fun take on a classic! I’m also a giant fan of broccoli slaw and haven’t had it in awhile. Also, slaw on a sandwich was probably one of the best things I learned about when I was eating barbecue in the south.

  34. November 11, 2010 10:52 am

    as liz lemon would say, i want to go to there. divine work.

  35. Dani permalink
    November 6, 2011 12:30 pm

    Made this recipe today because Grandma had a craving for a pulled pork sandwich. She was super excited that Root Beer was the “secret ingredient.” It was amazing and even better topped off with the broccoli slaw.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Root beer pulled pork sliders « One Ordinary Day -- Topsy.com
  2. Root beer pulled pork sliders (via One Ordinary Day) « Ninny's Nest
  3. Root Beer Pulled Pork Sandwiches « Try It You Might Like It

Leave a Reply

