Skip to content

Pumpkin bread pie

November 11, 2010

Pumpkin Bread Pie

I was browsing through cookbooks at the library the other day, and came across The Dinner Doctor.  I could use a dinner doctor lately, so I brought the book home with me.  Naturally, I turned straight to the dessert section and found a recipe for banana bread pie*.  Knowing my kids wouldn’t be crazy about that idea, I used it as a springboard for pumpkin bread pie instead.

The kids had a day off from school today, so Sam and I baked together.  He’s fun to bake with, and does a little Emeril-esque “Shazam!” when he’s tossing spices around.  I think I’ll try to work that into my daily cooking routine.  Wouldn’t making dinner be more fun with a little “Shazam!” thrown in?

This recipe turned out to be a perfect combination of pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie.  The texture reminds me a lot of bread pudding, actually, but with the portability of a snack cake.  How’s that for a description?  You’ll just have to try it and see for yourself.  I love how easy it was to make and that Sam could do it by himself.  Definitely a keeper for when we want a quick pumpkin fix.

The kids have all given it two thumbs up.  They had a friend over this morning and right now it looks like Jim will be lucky to get a piece of this when he gets home from work.  It’s disappearing fast!

Recipe:  Pumpkin Bread Pie

(inspired by The Dinner Doctor)

1 c. pumpkin puree

1/2 c. Bisquick mix

2 large eggs

1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk

1 Tbsp. butter, melted

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Lightly spray 9″ pie plate with cooking spray and preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix all ingredients with an electric mixer, on low speed, for 1-1 1/2 minutes.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake until firm around edges, but still slightly soft in the center, about 25-30 minutes.  Remove from oven and let sit 30 minutes before serving.  (I baked this for 25 minutes, and thought perhaps I’d overbaked it because it all seemed to firm up.  During the 30 minute cooling time, the texture changed a little and it turned out very well.)

*If you prefer the banana bread pie version, simply substitute 1 cup of mashed bananas for the pumpkin, and omit the pumpkin pie spice.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 10:58 am

    Sounds delicious, mix between a snack cake and bread pudding, count me in! Love his Shazam! Too cute

  2. November 11, 2010 11:31 am

    Sounds right up my alley!

    When I was in Italy, I ordered something that was called Flan, but it wasn’t a custard, it actually had a consistency that looked very similar to this. I guess it was kind of a bread custard.

    I wish everyone would stop making things that are good for Thanksgiving, I’m having a hard time finalizing my menu :-P

  3. November 11, 2010 3:32 pm

    Now this is something I have to try. I can just imagine how good this will be with some butter slathered on it for breakfast!

  4. November 11, 2010 10:04 pm

    I agree that “shazam” should be used way more often. I might have to try that this weekend. This looks delicious, I myself, just slipped some pumpkin gingerbread into the oven. Crossing my fingers it comes out yummy! :)

  5. November 12, 2010 1:18 am

    What a super yummy have to try recipe – only problem, is I don’t get Bisquick Mix. Do you know an alternative I could use?
    :-) Mandy

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:47 am

    Mandy – Not a problem at all, because you can make your own biscuit mix really easily. Here’s a link to another blog that I follow w/ her recipe for making it at home. http://tinyurl.com/yevlawk : )
    ~ Michelle

  7. November 12, 2010 7:31 am

    Michelle, thanks so much!
    :-) Mandy

  8. November 12, 2010 7:21 pm

    What an interesting pie. I love sweetened condensed milk (and dulce de leche made from it too) a little too much that I can’t resist this.

  9. November 12, 2010 7:56 pm

    Well this is something I’ll have to try for sure since I am just addicted to pumpkin pies.
    thanks Michelle,
    Sam

  10. November 12, 2010 9:44 pm

    I like the mental imagine of Sam tossing spices around. Sounds like a fun bonding experience. And this pie looks amazing! I love all the pumpkin stuff everywhere this time of year!

  11. November 14, 2010 4:25 pm

    Ooh definitely going to make this one. I live simple, delicious and unique recipes like this.

    And yes, we could all use a little “shazam”! ha ha! So great you get to bake with your little Sambo.

  12. Tifiny permalink
    November 14, 2010 5:06 pm

    What temperature do you bake it at?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    November 14, 2010 5:45 pm

    Tifiny – Sorry and oops! Thanks for noticing the mistake. I’ve fixed it up, so we’re good. : )
    ~ Michelle

  14. November 14, 2010 10:55 pm

    :) Baking with kids can be a lot of fun except when they ALL want to bake with you at the SAME time.

    I could use a little Shazam or Bam in my kitchen. A little cleaner elf would be nice too. :)

    I totally laughed when I read it was initially a banana bread pie. Either way I’ll be giving it a try. We love bread pudding and bananas. Pumpkin is not too far behind though Jalen as you know is just finding his way to the pumpkin side.
    ~ingrid

  15. November 16, 2010 8:29 pm

    Mmmmm you had me at pumpkin!

  16. November 18, 2010 10:43 am

    That looks so good! I love the pumpkin instead of banana idea.

Trackbacks

  1. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » Pumpkin Bread Pie

Leave a Reply

