Skip to content

Sour cream cut-out cookies

December 17, 2010

Sour Cream Cookies

If you’d like to make some cut-out cookies for the holidays, but you aren’t in a sugar cookie frame of mind, then you might want to try these sour cream cookies instead.  We baked a batch the other day with the recipe my mom used when we were little.  The kids even shared the rolling pin, which required them to be nice to each other for at least 30 minutes.  And then, they shared a bowl of frosting to decorate them!  My head was spinning.  Crazy Christmas miracles.

Recipe:  Sour Cream Cookies

1 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. shortening

1/4 c. butter, softened

1 egg

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 2/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 c. sour cream

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Mix sugar, shortening, butter, egg, and vanilla in large bowl.  Stir in remaining ingredients until well combined.  Divide dough and roll each 1/4″ thick on a lightly floured surface.  Cut with cookie cutter and transfer to ungreased baking sheet.  Sprinkle with colored sugar now, or leave plain to frost later.

Bake for 5-7 minutes, until cookies puff up a little and are golden on the bottom.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 8:29 am

    Those are so pretty! I always seem to have extra sour cream from when I make tacos so these are perfect.

  2. December 17, 2010 8:32 am

    I never knew you could make sour cream cutouts! I have a sour cream drop cookie that is a favorite in my family, but these look great!

  3. December 17, 2010 9:08 am

    This is awesome! We made sugar cookie cut outs last night, wish I had known about these! I am never a huge sugar cookie fan, so this would be great to do!

  4. December 17, 2010 10:46 am

    do they sell sour cream by the gallon? i just might need to buy a case of it to get through the next two weeks.

    cheers!

  5. December 17, 2010 11:30 am

    I like the sound of these! Sometimes sugar cookies can be kind of dry–I bet the sour cream keeps these moist and delicious.

  6. December 17, 2010 12:35 pm

    I bet those were good….wish I knew someone, who knew I liked cookies but hated baking cookies that would take pity on me and bake and send me some. Sure wish……..

    lol, that would be a Christmas miracle and then a Christmas disaster at my house. The kids getting along and sharing, all at the same time!? Yes, I’d pass out, hit my head, and need to go to the hospital. That would then start the kids fighting and yelling about whose fault it was that I passed out. :) I kid you NOT!

    Happy Friday!
    ~ingrid

  7. December 17, 2010 1:15 pm

    I always have a little trouble with cutting out sugar cookies, but these look so delicious and simple! Thanks for sharing, Michelle. Happy holidays to you.

  8. December 18, 2010 3:58 pm

    Sour cream cookies sound like a great canvas to decorate for the holidays. Thanks for sharing these, Michelle!

  9. December 19, 2010 1:40 am

    this is a new cookie recipe for me–i’ve never seen sour cream in an ingredient list before! looks like they turned out pretty nicely–well done, and hooray for xmas miracles. :)

  10. December 19, 2010 8:21 am

    The sour cream must give them a really nice texture, and nutmeg, now that is good! I do need to make some cute out cookies with the kids, they like that kind of stuff. We are now off for Chritmas break so we have time!

  11. December 24, 2010 1:43 am

    That cookie on the left looks like a sugared up bagel and the thought of that makes me happy!

  12. Livia M permalink
    December 22, 2012 12:02 am

    I used to make Sour cream cutouts i had lost my recipe and when i came across this one sounded real good… i made them yesterday the Flavor is amazing only problem the amount of the flour listed here was way too soft the dough i added 3 1/2 cups to be able to roll them out they came out perfect and everyone loves them .. Next time i will add a little more Nutmeg

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Cookie Collection | highplainsdrifters

Leave a Reply

