Skip to content

Pan pizza

January 6, 2011

Pan Pizza

I’m a huge Pizza Hut pan pizza lover, but Jim’s not, so we rarely ever eat it.  That’s why I got so excited when I saw a recipe to make it in my own kitchen.  Around the same time, I watched an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives where they featured a sandwich pizza, and that totally pushed me over the edge.  Pan pizza, here I come.

Well, as it turns out, my life was probably a little happier before I realized that pan pizza pretty much cooks itself in a puddle of oil.  How could I not know that?  Is it weird that I’m sad?  I am.  I won’t ever be able to just enjoy a pan pizza with reckless abandon ever again.  Sigh.

Roast Beef Sandwich Pizza

Picture my favorite sandwich in pizza form.  Thin slices of roast beef on garlic bread, smothered with cheese, then warmed up until it’s nothing but toasty goodness.  Great idea, right?  My problem came when I was planning to brush garlic butter onto the dough, but all the stinkin’ oil came up and flooded the top.  I did the best I could and dotted the dough here and there with garlic butter, layered a big pile of deli roast beef on it, then topped it with provolone and sharp cheddar cheeses.  It was tasty, but it’s a lot easier to use a loaf of garlic bread.  Duly noted.

I think I’ll try a lighter version of pan pizza another time by just spraying the pans with nonstick cooking spray and maybe adding a smidge of olive oil in the bottom for flavor.  I know it wouldn’t be the real deal, but I bet it would be close enough.

{one year ago:  ultimate brownies}
{two years ago:  cheese crackers}

Recipe:  Pan Pizza

(from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures)

1/2 cup olive oil, divided

3/4 cup skim milk plus 2 additional tablespoons, warmed to 110 F

2 teaspoons sugar

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 package (2 1/4 teaspoons) instant yeast

1/2 teaspoon salt

pizza sauce

pizza toppings of your choice

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and preheat oven to 200 F.  When oven reaches temperature, turn it off.  Lightly grease a large bowl with cooking spray.  Coat each of two 9-inch cake pans with 3 tablespoons oil.

Mix milk, sugar, and remaining 2 tablespoons oil in a measuring cup.   Add the flour, yeast, and salt to the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook.  Mix briefly just to combine the dry ingredients.  With the mixer on low, slowly add the milk mixture to the bowl.  Once the dough comes together, increase the speed to medium-low and knead until the dough is shiny and smooth, about 5 minutes.  Turn the dough onto your work surface, gently shape it into ball, and place it in the greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the warm oven until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured work surface, divide in half, and lightly roll each half into ball. Shape each half into a 9 1/2-inch round and transfer to one of the oiled cake pans.  Cover with plastic wrap and set in a warm spot (not in the oven) until puffy and slightly risen, about 20 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400 F.

Remove plastic wrap from dough. Ladle sauce on each round, leaving 1/2-inch border around edges. Sprinkle each with your favorite cheese and top with your favorite toppings.  Bake until the cheese is melted and the crust has puffed and is golden brown, about 20 minutes. Remove from oven; let pizzas rest in pans for 1 minute. Using spatula, transfer pizzas to cutting board and cut each into wedges.

Makes two 9-inch pizzas

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 9:15 pm

    Pan pizza takes me back to my days of enjoying Chicago-style pizza whenever I wanted. Now, I’m craving it. The melting cheese looks amazing!

  2. January 7, 2011 8:44 am

    I was horrified when I saw how Chicago deep-dish pizza is made – someone takes about a stick of butter and smears it around the pan before the crust goes in. Add about a pound or two of cheese, sausage and pepperoni, and you can bet I’m regretting eating that third slice later that evening. Even though I know what is in it, because it’s so delicious and unique I’ll still throw caution to the wind and order it, but I’ll usually stop at a single slice (or if i’m really daring, two!) Your pizza looks delicious, even if it’s a bit of a diet buster – but we all need our little indulgences, right?

  3. grandy permalink
    January 7, 2011 8:55 am

    Pizza looks great but i would have loved that sandwich in my pannini press.

  4. January 7, 2011 9:35 am

    i think i’m still paying for the chi-style pan pizza i had every wednesday at the all-u-can-gorge lunch special some 24 years ago, right out of college during my first “job.” i wonder what i would say to young me if i could meet him today?

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 7, 2011 10:54 am

    Mom ~ Bea and I were just daydreaming about those panninis last night on the phone! I would have liked it much better that way too. :) xo

  6. January 7, 2011 1:28 pm

    I’ve been eating pizza all week (thanks to leftovers), yet this post makes me want more pizza, specifically Chicago-style deep dish.

  7. January 7, 2011 10:02 pm

    You know what I didn’t know that it was a puddle of oil either – *sigh* – why do all of the tasty things have to be so unhealthy?

  8. January 8, 2011 6:57 am

    Hey hope you don’t mind but I gave you an award on my blog :)

  9. January 8, 2011 7:25 am

    Looks great, forget the calories! Noone eats pizza to be healthy right?

    Blue Skies,
    Charlotte xo

  10. January 8, 2011 12:08 pm

    My boyfriend and I used to split a large pie at Pizzeria Uno when I was younger, but we put the brakes on that right away when we found out how it’s made. As you’ve pointed out, it’s pretty much *fried*, with all that grease in the pan. But I just love it. The great thing about making it at home is it’s possible to experiment with scaling back the fats. But still, gotta live a little, right?

  11. January 8, 2011 9:32 pm

    Looks divine! I will have to give this a try! :)

  12. January 9, 2011 5:30 am

    so i guess it only takes four words to send my saliva glands into overdrive–roast beef sandwich pizza. awesome.

  13. Evie permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:12 pm

    Looks great!

  14. January 11, 2011 8:51 pm

    I ate a lot of pan pizza as a kid, but I don’t digest large amounts of fat well so I guess that’s why I stopped eating it on my own. Still, it’s quite delicious when you’re in the mood for something a bit richer!

  15. January 14, 2011 12:21 am

    I’m a fan of Pizza Hut pan pizza too! It’ sso crispy on the edges and doughy and chewy. yum! I asked the guy at PH how much oil they use and he said “a pump or two”. I’m not sure how much “a pump or two” is and I don’t really want to know!

Leave a Reply

