Skip to content

Chocolate cookie bars

January 14, 2011

Chocolate Cookie Bars

These cookie bars may not look out of the ordinary, but looks can be deceiving.  Trust me.  The fact that I can’t stop eating them, just proves that these are far from average.   They are totally rocking my world this week and have gotten rave reviews from the kids in my life.  In fact, Sam’s best friend has insisted that I get a cooking show and bake these first thing.  Ha!

Let me tell you what you’re looking at here.  First, there’s a chocolate butter cookie layer, then a thick layer of chocolate fudgy goodness, topped with any and all of your favorites.  I chose to go all chocolate peppermint with these by adding crushed peppermint sandwich cookies to the top and bottom layers, and peppermint extract to the middle layer.  If peppermint’s not your thing, how about trying my other favorite combination – chocolate and peanut butter.  Adding peanut butter chips or crushed peanut butter filled cookies would be awesome.  You’re a chocolate purist?  Skip the crushed cookies and go for candy bar pieces or extra chocolate chunks on top.  Or how about crushed nuts?  The possibilities are truly endless, and the results are de-li-cious!

{one year ago:  whole wheat pumpkin muffins w/ cream cheese glaze}
{two years ago:  chocolate butter cake}

Recipe:  Chocolate Cookie Bars

(inspired by Hershey’s Kitchens)

1 3/4 c. flour

3/4 c. powdered sugar

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/4 cups chopped peppermint filled chocolate sandwich cookies, such as Oreos, divided

1 c. unsalted butter, chilled and cut into chunks

2 c. chocolate chips, semisweet or dark, divided

1 14-oz. can sweetened condensed milk

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. peppermint extract

Heat oven to 350 degrees and line a 9×13″ baking pan with parchment paper or foil.

In the bowl of your food processor (or in a regular mixing bowl), add flour, sugar, cocoa powder, and 1/4 c. chopped peppermint sandwich cookies.  *I added the peppermint cookies to carry the peppermint flavor throughout.  You can feel free to skip this addition.* Cut in butter by pulsing until crumbly.  (If working by hand, use your fingers or a pastry cutter until mixture is dry and crumbly.)  Press firmly into bottom of baking pan.  Bake for 15 minutes.

In the meantime, gently heat sweetened condensed milk and 1 c. of chocolate chips.  Stir frequently, until chocolate has melted and mixture is smooth and creamy.  Remove from heat and stir in extracts.  *If you aren’t making these bars peppermint-flavored, skip the peppermint extract.* Remove pan from oven after 15 minutes and pour melted chocolate mixture over the cookie crust.  Spread evenly.  Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips and crushed cookies.** Press down gently on toppings.  Return pan to oven and bake an additional 20 minutes or until set.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely before cutting into squares or bars.

**Toppings are only limited by your taste buds and include:  flavored morsels, chopped candy bars, crushed cookies, and/or chopped nuts.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 7:03 am

    OMG!!!

    I am seriously drooling over here – these bars look evvvvvill!

  2. January 14, 2011 8:01 am

    What’s scary is, I’m thinking one of those with a cup of coffee would make for a good breakfast. Cheers!

  3. January 14, 2011 8:37 am

    *Drool* I have to try these! I would totally do a s’mores theme on top of those!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 14, 2011 8:39 am

    Caroline – That’s pure genius. Why didn’t I think of that? :)
    ~ Michelle

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 14, 2011 8:39 am

    HPD – Yep, I must admit that I enjoyed that breakfast more than once this week. :)
    ~ Michelle

  6. January 14, 2011 9:10 am

    These look FAR from ordinary–they look incredible! If I make these, I will be forced to go to the gym…so maybe it’s healthier if I make them :)

  7. January 14, 2011 10:31 am

    I’m a sucker for chocolate and peppermint – can’t wait to try these!

  8. January 14, 2011 11:56 am

    These look AMAZING. I need to make them asap.

  9. January 14, 2011 3:50 pm

    Oh my. These would never survive in my house! Gone in 2 seconds flat. Chocolate butte cookie and a fudgy layer and whatever I want on top- you can’t beat that. Too bad you don’t live closer! I would have loved to see you at the market!

  10. Vicky permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:21 pm

    I would love to see a comfort food post in the near future. Would make my day! Thanks, Michelle. Love visiting your blog, always brings a smile (and hungry stomach) over here in Seattle.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 15, 2011 7:22 am

    Vicky – Actually, my next two posts were actual meals instead of sweets. :) Great minds, eh?
    ~ Michelle

  12. Evie permalink
    January 15, 2011 8:12 am

    Oh Aunt Shell, have you let U. Jim have any?! :) I need to have some when I come!!!!!!! xoxo Still enjoying the brownie oreos!

  13. January 15, 2011 6:49 pm

    Wow, these look awesome. I love all those goodies you added on top. Biting into these would be a real treat.

  14. January 16, 2011 6:03 am

    I just posted a link to this post on my blog as part of my new ‘Weekly Favourites’ hope you don’t mind :)

  15. January 16, 2011 2:19 pm

    Those look insane Michelle. I bet it would be fun to make a coule different kinds and let the kids thrown on whatever they want- maybe for a sleepover??? Ooh a baking sleepover- that’s genius!

    When does your new show start up? :-)

  16. January 16, 2011 3:38 pm

    Oh my, these look too good for words! I can’t wait to try these out. :)

  17. January 17, 2011 1:37 am

    the hershey’s website is LOADED with so many awesome recipes that i hadn’t come across this one. needless to say, it appears to be amazing.

  18. January 17, 2011 12:29 pm

    OMG – these look so very, very awesome. I would surely need to munch the whole pan.

  19. January 17, 2011 3:32 pm

    Now that’s some serious chocolate. :) I’m wondering if I could “tone” it down a bit and not lose what makes it yummy? Or really am I kidding myself?! lol, it’s the chocolate that makes it good, right?!
    ~ingrid

  20. January 18, 2011 12:00 pm

    Seriously, Michell take me to cookie bar heaven with this one!

  21. January 18, 2011 11:10 pm

    Seeing this makes me crave the peppermint oreo brownies I made recently since they look kinda similar. But I am fascinated by the use sweetened condensed milk in these and how they’d affect the texture. Only good things can come of SCM in my opinion :).

  22. michael permalink
    January 19, 2011 11:47 am

    Oh my word, those look great!

  23. January 20, 2011 10:44 am

    Pure evil in a cookie bar – my dentist will hate this recipe but oh my I love it! Chocolate… peppermint… Oreos – so many favourites!

    Blue Skies,
    Charlotte xo

  24. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 20, 2011 4:41 pm

    Charlotte – These cookie bars rock! Take a couple with you to the dentist. :)
    ~ Michelle

  25. January 28, 2011 3:48 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. I think my heart skipped a beat when I saw the first photo. Those look so delicious! I must make. Especially since I happen to be — ahem — craving chocolate for the next few days or so. Can’t wait to try!

Leave a Reply

