Skip to content

An update

January 25, 2011

A few days have passed since my sister and her family lost their house, and your kind words and donations have been so sweet and comforting to them.  They are staying with our youngest sister for right now, just a few miles away from their place.  She and her family welcomed them and their pets, plus all the rest of us and all the friends and neighbors who bombarded their home over the weekend.  The outpouring of love for them is staggering.

My brother-in-law suffered 2nd and 3rd degree burns that are being treated at a burn center in Pittsburgh, but he is recovering; Evie, Owen, and Ayden started back to school today; and Bea is taking everything one day at a time.  The enormity of their loss hits them in different ways at different times, but they are healing.

The overwhelming response from their community and from people who don’t even know them is astounding.  I can’t say enough about the help they received immediately from the American Red Cross.  You always hear that they are the first to come forward, but until you see it, you just can’t fully appreciate what they do to help.  The family’s pharmacy immediately filled their medical prescriptions at no cost, Walmart’s eye care center got them replacement glasses at no charge, local restaurants sent food or gift cards for meals within hours.  I am just in awe of the generosity and kindness that I saw.

In spite of all they’ve lost, I keep thinking of the lyrics to one of the songs we sing at church.

“God is good all the time
He put a song of praise in this heart of mine
God is good all the time
Through the darkest night, His light will shine
God is good, God is good
All the time”

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 11:20 am

    What a beautiful thing to see the goodness and generosity of people when what you normally hear on the news is quite the opposite. I, too, have been through an incredibly tragic ordeal in the not-so-distant past, and I know how the only thing that kept me going sometimes was the generous spirit of absolute strangers being at our side and helping us out when we needed it the most, even if we were to stubborn to ask for it. Many blessings to your sister, her entire family, and all those providing the support they truly need at this time!

  2. corrie permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:21 am

    Wow! Incredible! God really IS good all the time. Thanks for sharing the update!

  3. Denise permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:40 am

    Oh my Goodness! I am glad that they are all ok! Much love to all of you!!

  4. January 25, 2011 1:52 pm

    I am so glad to hear all the love and support they are receiving. I cant even imagine what they are going through. Prayers are with your family during this difficult time.

  5. January 25, 2011 5:56 pm

    Just read about this on Ingrid’s blog and I’m sending my prayers to you. It’s time like this that make us realize how good God really is…..

  6. January 25, 2011 6:28 pm

    This post brought tears to my eyes. I’m so glad the community is stepping forward to help them.

  7. January 25, 2011 7:46 pm

    I just found about your sister and her family from Ingrid. Sending prayers and hugs from Virginia!

  8. January 25, 2011 8:29 pm

    Michelle, I’m writing this with tears in my eyes and a bit choked up. I’m glad to hear that everyone is healing and as I mentioned in my email I hope each day brings them closer to getting past it especially Bea.

    The words to that song are beautiful and an example of them are the way God’s goodness is acting through the community.

    Thanks for the update.
    ~ingrid

  9. January 26, 2011 12:35 am

    Blessings to you all.
    :-) Mandy

  10. January 26, 2011 1:49 am

    I’m so glad to hear that the community has stepped up and is helping out. My prayers are with Bea and her family.

    God is good and he will provide again.

  11. January 26, 2011 11:02 am

    The Red Cross never gets enough credit. Folks only want to donate when there’s a huge crisis, but their really important work is the stuff they do Monday through Friday, not on CNN but in Smallville, USA.

    Our prayers are with your sister and her family.

  12. January 26, 2011 3:07 pm

    I’m glad to hear that everyone is doing well and that the community has been so helpful. I don’t have much, but I put forward a few dollars toward the PayPal fund. I hope that they are able to get back everything that they lost – I couldn’t even imagine if this happened to me. Your sister sounds like such a strong, brave woman. Wish her and her family all of the best for me!

  13. Lisa permalink
    January 26, 2011 8:31 pm

    So glad to hear your sister’s community, family and friends are rallying around her. I lost my home in a fire almost 15 years ago and felt the same outpouring of love from the small town I lived in at the time. While the devistation is overwhelming in the first days and weeks, I found that I became more grateful for everything I have, most importantly my family. It may sound corny, but I have heard this from others, I think of that experience as a blessing in my life.

  14. January 27, 2011 6:09 am

    I am so glad that the community is being so generous. That is truly wonderful.

  15. January 27, 2011 4:05 pm

    While nothing can get back everything they’ve lost, it is amazing to see the generosity of complete strangers. I hope your sister and her family are making somewhat of a recovery from this horrible loss. Thanks for the updates.

  16. January 28, 2011 3:49 pm

    Praying for Bea and family!

  17. January 29, 2011 10:18 am

    That’s such great news that the community has stepped up to help out. It amazes me sometimes how much people will step up to help out when a tragedy occurs; it’s like a little force that quickly mobilizes to get done what needs to be done.

    Your family is in my thoughts. I can’t imagine how difficult it is to go through this; I’m trying to send good vibes to all involved, and I hope your brother-in-law heals quickly with as little pain as possible.

  18. February 4, 2011 10:34 am

    God is definitely good. My thoughts and prayers are with your family.

Leave a Reply

