Skip to content

Butterscotch throwdown

April 25, 2011

Wow, there has been a bunch of stuff going on in my little corner of the world!  The biggest news is that I went back to work after being home with my kiddos for almost 12 years!  I’m working with the Title I program at our elementary school and spend my days with beginning or struggling readers.  Couldn’t be more perfect for me and I love it.

I’ve got two weeks under my belt now and I’m getting used to the schedule and trying to get myself more organized.  My kids and my kitchen will be pleased when I start making good stuff again.

So let me start by telling you about my family’s annual Throwdown competition.  We’ve been doing it a few years now and it’s a blast.  There’s a “secret” ingredient, official ballots, and an awesome trophy.  And we take this very seriously!  This year, the ingredient we had to bake with was butterscotch.  I’ll share the three recipes with y0u this week, then I’ll let ya know which of us was triumphant.  Stay tuned!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:34 am

    O.K. well hurry up and tell us! We’re all waiting in suspence!!! I think thats how you spell it… Teehee :) Miss you already!

  2. April 25, 2011 11:25 am

    I love it!! I did a throwdown with my Boyfriend’s family for pumpkin cookies awhile back and we’ve been talking about doing another one for cheesecake. I love the idea of official ballots and a trophy to add to the mix to make it more fun! Hmm.. I might hit up a thrift store to find a silly bowling trophy or something random.. Can’t wait to see the recipes!

  3. April 25, 2011 1:49 pm

    A huge congrats to you on your new job! Your family’s Easter throw-down tradition sounds like so much fun and I can’t wait to hear more about it…mmm, butterscotch… ;)

  4. April 25, 2011 4:39 pm

    Whoa we really have fallen out of touch!
    Huge news.
    Hope it’s all working out for you.
    xoxo

  5. April 25, 2011 9:15 pm

    Ooh this should be a good throwdown! Wow, back to work and such a neat job too. You will be great at it since you are such an avid reader! Hope you all had a great Easter and spring break!

  6. April 26, 2011 1:14 am

    Congratulations on your new position and how exciting that you are enjoying it so much. Looking forward to your 3 butterscotch recipes.
    :-) Mandy

  7. April 26, 2011 6:04 pm

    HOW are you doing it? I subbed part-time for three weeks this month and it nearly killed me. I loved the job (working with three little guys with autism), but I got so behind it wasn’t even funny. Please feel free to share any strategies you come up with!

  8. April 27, 2011 12:47 am

    I know who won! I know who won!

    Congrats again on your new job. I think you’re going to be fantastic at it.

    Can’t wait to see all the recipes nest week :-)

  9. April 29, 2011 3:34 pm

    Congrats on the new job! I’m sure you will be wonderful at it!

Leave a Reply

