Skip to content

Monkey bread

May 7, 2011

Monkey Bread

This was the first time I’ve made monkey bread, and it was so amazingly delicious that it will certainly not be my last.  I went for all fancy with my bundt pan, but it was way too small for this recipe.  I might try a tube pan next time, but the recipe actually calls for a 9×13″ baking pan.  I just didn’t think that would be pretty enough.  As it turns out, I ended up with a big, flowering pan of dough.  Just look at this!

{one year ago:  salted caramel peanut butter ice cream}
{two years ago:  snickerdoodle bars}

Recipe:  Monkey Bread

(From my little sister ~ thanks, Dani!)

2 loaves frozen bread

1/2 cup butter

2 tbsp. milk

1 cup brown sugar

1 pkg. vanilla pudding (small box of Cook and Serve pudding)

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Thaw bread and allow to rise according to the directions on the package.  After the bread has risen, cut into bite-sized pizzas and toss in a greased 9×13″ pan.  Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat.  Add sugar, pudding mix, milk, and cinnamon.  Stir until blended.  Pour mixture over bread.  Cover with a clean dish towel and allow to sit for 2 1/2 hours to allow for another rise.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes.  Carefully turn monkey bread out onto a platter that has been lined with foil with the edges turned up.  The sauce will run over and through the bread.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 7:56 am

    My mother used to make this and we used to love it! It was sooooo good. I didn’t even remember it existed.
    Oh how I wished I had some desire to spend time in the kitchen!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 7, 2011 8:05 am

    Diana – I only wish I had your desire to get to my scrapbooking table! : )
    ~ Michelle

  3. May 7, 2011 11:10 am

    You’re making me hungry…as usual!

  4. May 7, 2011 2:38 pm

    Oooo what gooey goodness. Can I come over for some ;p

  5. thesavvystudent permalink
    May 7, 2011 5:24 pm

    Yummy! These look delicious…I want some. I’ve never heard of this before though – I’ll have to try it!

  6. May 7, 2011 8:45 pm

    I LOVE Monkey Bread (we call it Sticky Buns, even though it’s not technically the same thing). I use frozen dinner rolls and I line the pan with nuts and raisins before layering in the dough. It’s an old favorite in our home.

  7. May 8, 2011 8:47 am

    What a lovely idea. I have never heard of monkey bread before. Is the frozen bread an unbaked dough?
    :-) Mandy

  8. May 8, 2011 2:20 pm

    This could not possibly look any more delicious! Thanks for posting :)

  9. nosheen Shan permalink
    May 8, 2011 5:05 pm

    yum!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 8, 2011 5:52 pm

    Mandy – Yes, the frozen bread dough just needs to thaw and rise and you could just pop it in the oven for fresh-baked bread anytime. : )
    ~ Michelle

  11. May 8, 2011 6:33 pm

    I adore monkey bread! I actually have never made it before–yours looks incredible! :)

  12. May 9, 2011 8:38 am

    Monkey bread is amazing. It’s delicious and so simple to make, and I love that every piece is covered in the delicious cinnamon-sugar butter-mixture!

  13. May 9, 2011 10:04 am

    All the times of posted about monkey bread & this is the first time you’ve gotten around to it? Craziness!!! :) My recipe is different…gonna give Dani’s a try!
    ~ingrid

  14. May 10, 2011 3:40 am

    monkey bread is definitely not a hit-it-and-quit-it type of creation, that’s for sure. actually, i think it’s one of my true loves in life. :)

  15. sumsh permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:36 am

    hmmm…sounds delicious. I’ve always used refrigerated biscuits cut into quarters for our quick monkey bread. But I love using frozen bread for other recipes, so definitely will have to give this a try!

  16. May 10, 2011 8:32 am

    Monkey bread is so much fun. I am always amazed at how big it gets. I have to do this one with Daelyn sometime!

  17. May 10, 2011 11:07 pm

    This looks like something I would not be able to stop eating! Looks so yummy!!

  18. May 11, 2011 5:49 pm

    Since I’ve given up gluten, this is definitely one of those recipes that is very hard to resist! I’ve made it a few times, and it is just so absolutely, positively, without-a-doubt awesome! I may be drooling just a bit.

  19. Evie permalink
    May 15, 2011 7:49 pm

    this….looks…..AWESOME!!!!!!!

  20. May 17, 2011 12:15 pm

    I’ve actually never had monkey bread, but I’ve seen it several times lately. It looks and sounds so delicious, I might just have to give it a try! Thanks for the tips on the pan!

  21. May 29, 2011 2:12 am

    i have never actually made monkey bread either. wow. i hadn’t actually realized it. i’m going to check my freezer, it would be the perfect sunday morning wakeup call.

Leave a Reply

