Skip to content

40 clove chicken

May 22, 2011

40 Clove Chicken

Jim and I are huge fans of roasted garlic and we were sure we were going to love this dish.  What’s not to love, right?  With all that garlic, I was hoping the chicken would be totally infused with flavor and it would be the best we’ve eaten.  Unfortunately, it was just pretty ordinary.  Not even a garlicky taste to the chicken, though it really did have 40 cloves baked with it.  Overall, I’m sad to say I was disappointed.  There are some other 40 clove chicken recipes out there that I might try another time, but I don’t think I’ll bother with this one again.

{one year ago:  sky-high strawberry shortcake}
{two years ago:  apple bread}

Recipe:  40 Clove Chicken

(from Food Network)

1 whole broiler/fryer chicken, cut into 8 pieces  (I used 6 chicken breasts instead.)

1/2 c. plus 2 Tbsp. olive oil

10 sprigs fresh thyme

40 peeled garlic cloves

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Toss with a 2 tablespoons olive oil and brown on both sides in a wide skillet over high heat. Remove from heat, add oil, thyme, and garlic cloves. Cover and bake for 1 1/2 hours.

Remove chicken from the oven, let rest for 5 to 10 minutes, carve, and serve.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 8:10 am

    What a pity your garlic chicken was a disappointment. It looks lovely.
    :-) Mandy

  2. May 22, 2011 12:03 pm

    Oh yum. I love garlic too and this looks easy enough even for me.
    But you’ve said it wasn’t good! How disappointing.
    Ok, now to unpin that from my pinterest board. Just the photo alone enticed me. Oh well.

  3. May 23, 2011 7:24 am

    Argh! Doesn’t that just make you want to howl like a frustrated child? I hate it when a recipe with so much promise doesn’t turn out!

  4. Pat permalink
    May 23, 2011 9:19 am

    Sad to hear you didn’t enjoy the recipe, hopefully there are better days to come.
    I have a wonderful recipe for pickled garlic you might enjoy. Just let me know!

  5. May 23, 2011 10:05 am

    Too bad this didn’t deliver! It certainly looks like a winner!

  6. May 23, 2011 4:03 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try this, but just can’t get myself to throw 40 cloves of delicious garlic into ONE dish — now I know why. What a bummer that it didn’t turn out the way you would have expected. It looks juicy and delicious, anyway!

  7. May 24, 2011 9:04 pm

    Looks wonderful. Thanks for posting!

  8. May 25, 2011 2:45 am

    i’ve always been a bit put off by the idea of so much garlic in a dish. i like garlic, but how much is too much? regardless, it’s a nice picture. :)

  9. May 25, 2011 6:58 pm

    I hate it when recipes don’t turn out as expected…nonetheless, thanks for sharing the picture and recipe! :)

  10. May 25, 2011 7:27 pm

    Awww man, what a waste of 40 cloves! Sorry to hear it didn’t quite hit the spot. You sure made it look good, though :D

  11. May 26, 2011 4:22 pm

    It looks really good though! I’m surprised with all that garlic it didn’t even taste like it. I haven’t made it but I’ve heard Ina’s recipe is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

