Skip to content

Root beer sherbet

June 21, 2011

I have a guest blogger today…

My baby girl is posting about this cool summertime treat, because she made it all by herself while her mama watched.  Love those kinds of recipes!

Root Beer Sherbet

Hi.  My name is Claudia and I’m 7 years old.  I’m so excited to do this!

Well, I like root beer because I like the spiciness.  I call root beer “pirate grog” because the first time I actually knew about root beer it was on a pirate ship.  It was in a treasure chest in the ocean and we had to fight a skeleton for it.  It tasted fabulous!

This ice cream was pretty easy to make and it was yummy.  I was pretty happy when I first tasted it.  I really want to make it again.  I love blogging!  {lots of giggling here!}

{one year ago:  buttermilk biscuits}

Recipe:  Root Beer Sherbet

(from justJENN recipes)

2 12-oz. bottles of root beer (opened and left to sit and get a bit flat)

1/2 c. sweetened condensed milk

1 c. whole milk or half-and-half

Stir all ingredients together and allow the foam to settle a little.  Pour into ice cream maker and churn for 25 minutes.  Enjoy!

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 6:01 pm

    Hi, Ms. C!!!! I’m so excited to have you sharing this recipe. :) You did a fabulous job!

    Btw, do you have a vanilla recipe? :)
    ~ingrid

  2. June 21, 2011 7:40 pm

    What a neat idea!. U have one smart little girl.

  3. Colleen permalink
    June 21, 2011 11:39 pm

    That sounds and looks delicious. I like root bear too and will be trying this. Thanks Claudia!

  4. June 22, 2011 7:32 am

    Aww hi Claudia! This sounds delicious, thank you for sharing! I know my whole family would love this :)

  5. June 22, 2011 9:40 am

    Claudia, you’ve come up with a brilliant idea!!! Your root beer sherbet sounds awesome!!! And it’s so easy to make too!! I’d love a bowl!! :)

  6. June 22, 2011 10:24 am

    Good job, Claudia! It’s nice to see the next generation is getting into blogging! :)

  7. Jenna Hilgers permalink
    June 22, 2011 1:04 pm

    Such a great recipe- and congrats to your daughter for doing such a great job!

  8. June 22, 2011 1:14 pm

    Thanks Claudia! My kiddos would love this treat, great job. I hope you will blog again for us.

  9. June 22, 2011 6:56 pm

    Wow this sounds so yummy, I will have to give it a try and I know that my daughter will enjoy making it with me! Thanks for sharing!!

    Kelli @ loveoursimplelife.blogspot.com

  10. June 23, 2011 8:31 am

    Ahhhh I want an ice cream making like right NOW! Adore root beer and this looks and sounds incredible. Can I stop by ;p

  11. Evie permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:13 pm

    Claudia, did you seriously make this all by yourself??? It looks awesome, and I think Aunt Dani already made it with Shane =) I will be the next one to try it! Luv you =)

  12. June 24, 2011 8:12 am

    Yay Claudia!!!

  13. BEA permalink
    June 24, 2011 9:25 am

    Claud! Ayden is going to be sooo jealous that you’re blogging because he really wants to blog too. I remember our terrific adventure fighting off that skeleton to get to the treasure chest. You made a terrific pirate…was it “Crableg Claudia?” Can’t wait to see what adventures we find this year! I love you, Aunt Bea

  14. Dani permalink
    June 24, 2011 12:50 pm

    Thanks Claudia for the wonderful recipe. It was delicious. It reminded me of Rita’s from the boardwalk. We tried it with Cream Soda and that was also quite tasty. Next we are going to try it with orange soda.

    Love you bunches and thanks again for the great recipe!

  15. grandy permalink
    June 24, 2011 9:17 pm

    Claudia, I think your pirate grog sherbert looks delicious .Your blogging just like Mom. I love you..

  16. June 28, 2011 2:00 am

    hello, claudia, and nicely done! your grog sherbet sounds delightful!

  17. June 30, 2011 8:55 am

    Dear Claudia,
    We did love this recipe and were so happy to blog about it! Thanks for sharing!
    Robin

  18. July 1, 2011 11:41 am

    hee hee! She’s so dang cute. Love the excitement and giggling in her post. Great job Claudia!

  19. August 5, 2011 7:43 am

    Hi Claudia! I’m featuring your easy Root Beer Sherbert today on Five Friday Finds at Morsels of Life. Thanks for sharing your recipe and please grab a featured button at http://morselsoflife.blogspot.com/2011/08/five-friday-finds.html !

Trackbacks

  1. bake4me.com » Blog Archive » Root Beer Sherbet
  2. >Five Friday Finds :: Morsels of Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers