Skip to content

Brussels sprouts and potato hash

June 24, 2011

Brussels Sprout and Potato Hash

This Brussels sprouts and potato hash was part of the big breakfast I made on Father’s Day.  As I was lovingly slaving away at the stove, the father of my children walked past me, sneered at the brussel sprouts on the cutting board, and said, “You are disgusting” before he moped out of the kitchen.  Off to a great start, right?  Aw, gotta love him.

See, I feel like it’s kind of my quest to make things Jim hates from his childhood taste amazing.  It gives me some sort of weird satisfaction, and this hash totally fit the bill.  In fact, I may or may not have done a little cheer when he went back for a second serving of something that had Brussels sprouts in it.  Then I followed close on his heels, because I wanted more too.

This is a delicious twist on our run-of-the-mill hashbrowns, and I will definitely make it as often as I can find reasons to have brunch or a big family breakfast.  Or maybe I’ll just start Family Breakfast Fridays.  Hmm.  Sounds like a plan.

{one year ago:  frozen fudgicles}
{two years ago:  watermelon ginger coolers}

Recipe:  Brussels Sprouts and Potato Hash

(found at shutterbean, originally recipe from Appetite for Reduction)

2 tsp. olive oil, plus additional cooking spray as needed

1/2 lb. brussel sprouts, quartered lengthwise

1 lb. Yukon gold potatoes, cut into 1/2″ pieces

1 small onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp. dried thyme  (I used 1 Tbsp. fresh thyme instead.)

freshly ground black pepper

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. grated lemon zest (from 1 lemon)

Preheat a large heavy pan over medium heat. Saute the potatoes and sprouts in 1 teaspoon of oil, using non-stick cooking spray if needed. Cover the pan and cook for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the sprouts & potatoes are both tender and nicely browned. Add the onion, garlic, thyme, lemon zest, pepper and salt. Drizzle with remaining teaspoon of oil. Cook for another 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onions are browned.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 9:19 am

    Mmm looks yummy and healthier with the addition of brussels sprouts!

  2. Evie permalink
    June 24, 2011 12:42 pm

    You really are disgusting. =) Luv you!

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:49 pm

    LOL!!! Thanks, Evie. You’re too kind, but I love ya anyway. (brat!)
    ~ Aunt Shell

  4. June 25, 2011 1:38 pm

    I don’t cook with brussel sprouts that often, but this looks really good! Thanks!

  5. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    June 25, 2011 4:35 pm

    What an interesting combo-but I LOVE it :D

  6. June 27, 2011 8:20 am

    I don’t even like brussel sprouts but I want a HUGE serving of this! :D Awesome job :)

  7. June 29, 2011 2:10 pm

    I love the brussels sprout/potato combination! Brussels are one of my favorite veggies, so I always love finding new ways to use them. Thanks for sharing!

  8. June 29, 2011 6:58 pm

    Almost missed this one….I’ve never had brussels and have been meaning to try them. This looks like an excellent recipe to start off with.
    ~ingrid

    Btw, I have your blueberry buttermilk upside down cake baking…. :)

  9. June 30, 2011 2:15 am

    i do believe you’ve just hit upon the only way to get me to eat brussels sprouts!

  10. Evie permalink
    July 1, 2011 9:29 am

    Oh, so I’m the brat??? Well, I am PROUD. OF. IT. =))))))) Haha we have such fun arguements!!! I don’t even like Brussels Sprouts!!!! Brusel sounds to much like Russell =D

Leave a Reply

