Skip to content

Beer bread and panini

July 6, 2011

Quick and Easy Beer Bread

I got a panini press for my birthday a while back (thanks, Mom!) and we have been eating more panini sandwiches than pretty much anything.  This one is extra sharp cheddar and caramelized onions on beer bread.  Yum!  The beer bread was the perfect backdrop for the gooey cheese and the sweet onions.  It’d make a great grilled cheese sandwich too.  Truly, just looking at the photo is making me hungry for another one!  {Go make it, Dani.  Trust me!}

Recipe:  Beer Bread
(from food.com)

3 c. sifted flour
3 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1/4 c. sugar
1 12-oz. beer
1/2 c. melted butter

*Just a note that it’s important to sift or whisk your flour before measuring it for this recipe or your bread will be hard and tough.  There really is a significant difference between sifted flour and scooped flour.  Try measuring it out both ways and see for yourself.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray a loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Mix dry ingredients, half the melted butter, and the beer in a large bowl.  Spoon dough into bread pan and drizzle with remaining melted butter.  Bake for 1 hour.  Remove from pan and cool for 15 minutes before slicing.

(If you prefer a softer top crust, you can mix all the butter into the batter instead of pouring half over the top.)

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 8:42 am

    Thanks for the tip on sifting the flour. I am going to make some apple quick bread this afternoon and I’ll sift the flour and let you know how it turns out.

  2. July 6, 2011 12:53 pm

    Mmmm I ADORE beer bread — I make a honey version. You know I’ve made it several times without sifting the flour and it’s still been very very tasty :). Love the idea of making panini from it!

  3. July 6, 2011 3:28 pm

    You had me at beer bread!

  4. July 6, 2011 4:17 pm

    This looks super simple to do. Did you use any special kind of beer, or just the regular stuff?

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 6, 2011 5:31 pm

    Robin Sue – No special kind or brand name of beer. Just use whatever’s handy. : )
    ~ Michelle

  6. July 7, 2011 1:00 pm

    I can remember that when we got our paninimaker we ended up having panini just about every day for a week or so..lol.. Love panini and we still use it on a regular basis. Just not every day anymore. That beer bread sounds quite intriguing too!

  7. July 7, 2011 5:51 pm

    wow. is it really that easy? it really does look incredible. I have to try.

  8. Dani permalink
    July 8, 2011 9:38 pm

    Ok…Ok…Ok…I made this tonight for my friday evening get together. Everyone loved it and yes even I tried it and liked it. Great recipe and super easy.

  9. July 10, 2011 2:19 pm

    Great recipe….I love beer bread…very flavorful!

  10. July 14, 2011 4:11 am

    i’ve had beer bread, and it’s pretty good. know what’s better? beer and CHEESE bread. :)

  11. July 28, 2011 4:28 pm

    What rock have I been living under that I have never heard of beer bread! Looks likethe perfect bread to use in a panini.

Leave a Reply

