Skip to content

Peanut butter cup ice cream

July 24, 2011

Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream

I have been torturing my children.  Yes, it’s true, just ask them.  For 2 weeks, there has been a package of 8 Reese’s peanut butter cups sitting in the fridge.  I issued the following orders.  Don’t touch them.  Don’t look at them.  Don’t breathe on them.  Period.  If I hadn’t laid down the law, that candy wouldn’t have lasted a day around here.  We get a little crazed over Reese’s.

This ice cream was delicious and so simple to make that the kids could have done it without me.  They liked it even more with some chocolate-peanut butter Magic Shell on top, but I thought it was perfect all on its own.  Peanut butter ice cream loaded with chopped up Reese’s cups?  There’s no need to improve on that.

{one year ago:  good ole’ fashioned dirt cups}
{two years ago:  croissant bread pudding}

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream

(adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

3/4 c. creamy peanut butter
3/4 c. + 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
2 2/3 c. half-and-half
pinch of salt
1/8 tsp. pure vanilla extract
8 Reese’s peanut butter cups, chopped

Puree first 5 ingredients in a blender until smooth.  Chill mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze in your ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions.  While ice cream is churning, chop peanut butter cups.  When ice cream is done, stir in chopped candy and freeze.  (You may also add the peanut butter cups during the last 3 or 4 minutes of churning.)  Makes 1 quart.

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    July 24, 2011 10:56 am

    Nothing better!!! =)

  2. July 24, 2011 12:52 pm

    Chocolate and peanut butter are the best!

  3. July 25, 2011 12:17 pm

    I do the same thing to my kids, “do not eat this chocolate it is for my blog!” Then I hide the chocolate, forget about it and find is months later deep inside my pantry- then I eat it! But yeah if I do not label or guard, ingredients can be gone in minutes!

  4. July 25, 2011 2:19 pm

    Mmm what a great summer indulgence! My bf goes gaga for PB chocolate combinations.

  5. July 25, 2011 6:24 pm

    I officially love you now. :-) This is my favorite kind of ice cream in the world. Can’t wait to try it.

  6. July 26, 2011 11:53 am

    There’s not much to say about this except…I want some. Badly. Now.

  7. July 26, 2011 3:41 pm

    Ooh, I bet that was torture. But, I’m sure the ice cream totally made up for it! :)

  8. July 27, 2011 4:33 am

    reese’s cups have some undeniable power, that’s for sure. terrific batch of the cold stuff. :)

  9. July 27, 2011 1:16 pm

    my mom would buy candy and tell us not to touch it and then forget about it. torture is right!! but then my brother figured out, he’d open the bag with his teeth, eat one piece, then hide one piece under the couch, along with some other odds and ends, like a spoon or belt. then as soon as my mom walked into the room, he’d blame the dog for hiding stuff under the couch. she fell for it! then again, she drank a lot …

  10. July 28, 2011 3:28 pm

    Oh man – I would not have been happy with you if you left a bag of peanut butter cups in the fridge that I could not touch. That is until you made this ice cream. It looks divine.

  11. July 28, 2011 6:20 pm

    I am loving this recipe its one of my husbands favorite flavors. It’s been too long since I’ve been over here to visit your site. Your recipes and photos look great. Hope your having a great Summer so far.

  12. August 18, 2011 6:14 pm

    this is FANTASTIC! YUM!!

  13. October 2, 2011 5:12 pm

    OOOO Ice cream! Can I have some now!

Trackbacks

  1. A Mom's Year » Happy Weekend

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers