Skip to content

Apple oat bars with dulce de leche

October 3, 2011

Apple Oat Bars with Dulce de Leche

It’s definitely time to be baking up delicious Fall desserts, but I find myself avoiding anything apple simply because I don’t like peeling, coring, and slicing the darn things.  I’ve even been trying to convince my mom to can apple pie filling for me and she just refuses.  So really, I was looking for the least amount of apple prep that would give me the apple pay-off I wanted, and I found these bars.  And believe me, my search definitely paid off.

Warm from the oven, these apple oat bars were wonderful.  It was kind of like an apple cobbler you could eat right out of your hand.  If you’re an a-la-mode sort, then I highly advise adding a big scoop of ice cream drizzled with a little extra dulce de leche.  But in a bowl, of course.  No sense getting messy.

Recipe:  Apple Oat Bars with Dulce de Leche

(found at Crepes of Wrath, adapted from Straight from the Farm)

1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats (NOT instant oats)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3-4 apples, peeled, cored, and diced
juice of half a lemon or 3 Tbsp. apple juice
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup dulce de leche (you can buy a can or click here to make your own)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Cream butter and brown sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes.  In another bowl, combine 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour, the oats, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda; stir into the creamed mixture until well blended.  Set 2 cups of this mixture aside and press the remainder into a greased and/or lined 9×13″ baking dish.

Core, peel, and dice apples into thin, bite-sized pieces.  Toss them with juice and 3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour. Spread the apples over the dough base.  Warm up your dulce de leche in the microwave in 30 second intervals, if needed to make it pouring consistency, then drizzle it over the apples.  Sprinkle the 2 cups of reserved flour and oat mixture over the apples and dulce de leche, then press down gently.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, until set and golden.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool. Cut into small bars and refrigerate until ready to serve or serve immediately while still warm. Makes 32-36 bars. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 3 days.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 11:20 am

    Wow these look amazing !

  2. October 3, 2011 12:52 pm

    I’m with you on messing with the apples, but they are so good in or with so many things.

  3. October 3, 2011 1:21 pm

    Greetings. This is my first time on your blog, but you have a terrific one. I am always on the look out for new blogs, new ideas. I especially appreciate all the details you do. Great photos makes it seem like anyone can replicate the recipe!

    I am asking, would you please consider posting a few of your favorite recipes on erecipecards.com
    http://erecipecards.com/

    It is a tool for bloggers to see and to be seen. Your posts would fit in perfectly.

    in addition, all photos, recipe titles as well as your blog name would link directly back to your blog. Thus giving you new attention and potentially new readers.

    Or, if you just want to take a look at a lot of fellow food bloggers all in one place. A great learning experience to get ideas about how to establish your own blogging voice!

    Please take a look. If you have any ideas or questions, please do not hesitate to write

    Dave
    http://erecipecards.com/
    Contact@eRecipeCards.com

  4. October 3, 2011 2:28 pm

    fantastic looking cross-section! yum!

  5. Grandy permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:10 pm

    Apple oat bars.. They look really good! But i think it’s easier to bake a pie :)

  6. one ordinary day permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:48 pm

    Grandy – Well, I think it would be easier if YOU made ME a pie, so there!
    xoxo

  7. October 3, 2011 5:29 pm

    I’d never, ever, ever get tired of baked apple dishes.

    Never, in case i didn’t make that clear. :^)

  8. October 4, 2011 4:10 am

    Heavenly!
    Have a happy day.
    :-) Mandy

  9. October 4, 2011 10:56 pm

    Just told everyone on Facebook and StumbleUpon about these. They look so incredible. Absolute torture is what this is! :-) …Susan

  10. one ordinary day permalink
    October 5, 2011 1:32 pm

    Susan – Thank you for sharing my post! I can highly recommend the apple oat bars. Super delicious. : )
    ~ Michelle

  11. October 6, 2011 11:35 am

    Anything dulce de leche is right in my book. Can you believe I just paid $3 for a can of it though. Someone must have figured out that we all love it and jacked up the cost.

  12. October 6, 2011 10:57 pm

    Oh my. These look amazing!

  13. October 7, 2011 3:46 pm

    dulce de leche has the power to entice me in any creation. these are particularly lovely–well done!

  14. October 11, 2011 4:45 pm

    Nomnomnom! I was actually considering baking an apple dulce de leche pie this year, but probably won’t have time with all my school stuff. This is a great faster alternative!

  15. hannah1433 permalink
    October 12, 2011 5:53 pm

    I really must make these!!!

  16. October 26, 2011 12:43 am

    oh my gosh these look insanely delicious! I’m loving apple desserts right now.

  17. mayra permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:58 pm

    El dulce de leche es uruguayo woohooo!

  18. Andrea permalink
    December 24, 2011 4:34 pm

    This recipe is a little off it seems. it never says to mix the butter and sugar mixture with the flour and oats. I was following the recipe step by step and messed mine up because it never mentions reincorporating the butter mixture.

  19. one ordinary day permalink
    December 24, 2011 4:42 pm

    Andrea – I’ve gone back and fixed the recipe. I’m sorry your apple bars didn’t turn out due to my mistake. I hope you’re willing to try them again.
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Oat Dulce De Leche Bars | Baked by Rachel

Leave a Reply

