Skip to content

Triple layer cookie brownie bars

October 8, 2011

Triple Layer Cookie Brownie Bars

There is simply no way to describe the fun of eating three of your favorite treats all at once and having no one judge you a bit.  I mean, really.  Imagine if you curled up on your couch with a big homemade cookie, a couple of Oreos and a chewy brownie.  You would get a lot of raised eyebrows, right?  Problem solved!  With these bars you get to eat all three desserts at one time!  Woot!

I’ve made two versions of these so far, once with a chocolate chip cookie layer and regular Oreos, and again with a peanut butter cookie layer and Oreos with peanut butter filling.  Both times, I was disappointed with how brown the bottom of the bars got, so I might try lowing the oven temp a little next time.  You know… if there is a next time.  {ha!}  I just need chewy cookies, so I’ll work on that one.  Another great thing about it is that you get to choose how homemade everything’s going to be.  Make it all from scratch or use boxed mixes and refrigerated doughs.  Either way, you’ll get oohs and aahs.

{one year ago:  peanut butter cookies ~ with 4 ingredients!}
{two years ago:  broccoli salad}

Recipe:  Triple Layer Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownie Bars

(found at kevin & amanda, via pinterest)

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups (12 ounces) milk chocolate chips
1 pkg Double Stuffed Oreos
1 Family Size (9×13) Brownie mix
1/4 cup hot fudge topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream the butter and both sugars in a large bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed for 3-5 minutes. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well to thoroughly combine. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt, then slowly incorporate into the mixer until the flour is just combined. Stir in chocolate chips. Spread the cookie dough in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish that’s been lined with wax paper and sprayed with cooking spray. Top with a layer of Oreos. Mix together brownie mix, adding an optional 1/4 cup of hot fudge topping to the mix. Pour the brownie batter over the cookie dough and Oreos. Bake at 350 degrees F for 45-55 minutes.

{To cut this recipe in half this recipe for an 8×8 brownie mix, just half the chocolate chip cookie dough ingredients.}

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 8:55 am

    Oh my. Those look like decadent, delicious little suckers!

  2. October 9, 2011 9:02 pm

    Holy Cow are these brownies for REAL?! I am in serious trouble ever since I discovered Pinterest recently….I can’t seem to stop finding AMAZING ideas, recipes, creations etc. on it! I’m sure you know what I mean. :-)

  3. October 10, 2011 3:14 pm

    These are so crazy delicious looking! My kids would think I am a goddess if I made them for their after school snack today. Yeah, they might be on quite the sugar high, but being a goddess to them might be worth it.

  4. October 10, 2011 6:36 pm

    get some premade cookie dough for the base, and this is semi-homemade perfection!

  5. October 11, 2011 7:14 am

    Holy moly! I see you found these on pintrest. That sight is killing me! Nothing gets done around here when I am pinning- so many clever and creative people, so many beautiful places, so many fantastic artists… Oh I forgot to answer your question- yes my kids lunches are heavy with all those jars, but I am very pleased to be helping the environment from not using all those plastic snack bags I used to use. They don’t seem to mind the weight!

  6. October 11, 2011 7:26 pm

    Are these even legal??!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers