Skip to content

Pumpkin fudge

October 25, 2011

Pumpkin Fudge

I’ve had my eye on this recipe for quite a while now and I’ve been waiting for Fall to arrive to give it a try.  It just seems weird to bake or cook with pumpkin in the heat of Summer, doesn’t it?  It’s definitely time to pull out the pumpkin recipes, and this fudge was on the top of my list.

I’ve made my mom’s fudge a lot, and if you aren’t very experienced at candy making, I really urge you to buy yourself a candy thermometer.  It makes the whole experience quite simple and stress-free.  My mom still goes through the whole soft-ball-in-cold-water test, but I much prefer keeping an eye on my thermometer to know when my candy has hit that stage.  It’s really so much easier and the candy turns out perfectly every single time.

This fudge isn’t like any I’ve tried before, and I found it almost tooth-achingly sweet.  The kids enjoyed it though and it made such a large amount that I was even able to share with friends.  It got a thumbs up from them too.  While my mom’s recipe is still my very favorite, hands-down, this was a fun twist.

{one year ago:  meringue ghosts}

Recipe:  Pumpkin Fudge

(from Very Best Baking)

2 c. granulated sugar
1 c. packed light brown sugar
1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter
2/3 c. evaporated milk
1/2 c. pureed pumpkin
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
2 c. white morsels
1 7-oz. jar marshmallow fluff
1 c. chopped pecans, optional
1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Line a 13×9″ baking pan with foil and spray very lightly with cooking spray.

Combine sugar, brown sugar, butter, evaporated milk, pumpkin, and spice in medium, heavy-duty saucepan.  Bring to a full rolling boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Boil, stirring constantly, for 10 to 12 minutes or until candy thermometer reaches 234° to 240º F (soft-ball stage).

Remove from heat and stir in morsels, marshmallow fluff, nuts, and vanilla extract.  Stir vigoriously for 1 minute or until morsels are melted.  Immediately pour into prepared pan.  Let stand on wire rack for 2 hours or until completely cooled.  Refrigerate tightly covered.  To cut, lift from pan; remove foil.  Cut into 1-inch pieces.  Makes about 3 pounds.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 9:27 pm

    I have never had pumpkin fudge but have seen several recipes this fall. The texture of this looks wonderful, I will have to try!

  2. October 26, 2011 12:13 am

    geez! 3 cups of sugar, 2 cups of white morsels and fluff. Yes, these do sound tooth achingly sweet but they look delicious!

  3. October 26, 2011 2:17 am

    Super interesting idea! What are white morsels? Also we we don’t get marshmallow fluff here. I am sure I could adapt my fudge recipe for a pumpkin version.
    :-) Mandy

  4. October 26, 2011 11:17 am

    I love the idea of pumpkin fudge, but with all that sugar, white morsels and fluff, I’m not sure this is really pumpkin fudge or just white fudge with some pumpkin flavor.

    I love fudge, though, and love pumpkin, so I’ll need to try pumpkin fudge one day.

  5. one ordinary day permalink
    October 26, 2011 5:39 pm

    Mandy – The white morsels are just the white “chocolate chips.” They’re generally vanilla flavored. Using them definitely intensifies the sweetness in this fudge!
    ~ Michelle

  6. October 27, 2011 4:50 pm

    Pumpkin fudge, now that sounds interesting… I also am not the soft ball, hard ball person as I always get it wrong, so like you I have to have a thermometer to tell me if it’s cooked or not!

  7. October 29, 2011 3:51 am

    ah, marshmallow fluff–talk about your magical ingredients! :)

  8. October 31, 2011 4:13 pm

    Wow this looks good but like you said sounds very sweet to me! I can usually handle one piece of fudge before my teeth ache and my throat is sore from the sweetness, kids never seem to mind though!

Leave a Reply

