Skip to content

Skillet brownie

November 7, 2011

Skillet Brownie

After our total adoration of the chocolate chip skillet cookie, I was eager to try a skillet brownie.  I have just two words.  Brownie perfection.  Chewy and rich and chocolaty.  Seriously delicious and we all loved it.

I was bragging to Jim about how these brownies were almost good for us.  (See how I happily delude myself when I bake?)  After all, I used King Arthur white whole wheat flour, subbed evaporated milk for the heavy cream, and dark chocolate is already good, right?  I was all pleased with myself for my good sense and logic, and he had to go and point out the sugar and the butter.  Pff.  His glass is always half empty!  I ignored him and chose to look on the bright side, while I happily devoured a big hunk of brownie goodness.

{one year ago:  apple brown betty ~ with 4 ingredients}
{two years ago:  fluffernutter cupcakes}

Recipe:  Skillet Brownie

(adapted from marthastewart.com)

1 1/4 c. granulated sugar
3 eggs
1 c. all-purpose flour  (I subbed with King Arthur white whole wheat flour)
1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. salt
4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1/4 c. heavy cream  (I subbed with evaporated milk)
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs.  In another bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, and salt.

In a medium ovenproof nonstick skillet, bring butter and cream to a simmer over medium.  Add chocolate; reduce to medium-low.  Cook, stirring constantly, until chocolate has melted, about 1 minute.  Remove from heat, and let cool 5 minutes.

Add chocolate mixture to sugar mixture, whisking until blended.  Fold in flour mixture.  Pour batter into skillet.

Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 40 minutes.  (My brownie was done in 30 minutes.)  Serve from skillet, warm or at room temperature.

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 8:29 am

    The skillet! It is a wonderful tool that is so underused in baking but does such a great job. This looks so rich and decadent!

  2. November 7, 2011 11:02 am

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com

  3. Denise permalink
    November 7, 2011 11:29 am

    I was wondering what size cast iron skillet you used, and since I don’t have one yet, if you had any experience with another kind of skillet?
    This looks too delish not to try ! denisecott@yahoo.com

  4. November 7, 2011 2:42 pm

    I don’t care what your husband says… these are not bad for you! And the ice cream on top is squarely in the dairy (i.e., healthy) category. Hell, you’ve almost got a well-rounded meal in one skillet!

  5. November 8, 2011 7:25 pm

    this looks like a great brownie, especially with those accoutrements! nicely done.

  6. Evie permalink
    November 9, 2011 8:18 am

    Technically, ( I don’t know if I spelled that quite right, but….) Jim’s glass is always filled.
    1/2 whatever it is, and 1/2 air. . Anyway, the dish looks amazing, hope you make it some other time (for your family, perhaps.)

  7. November 14, 2011 4:57 pm

    That is the second skillet baking item I am seeing in two days. It must be a sign for me to get myself a cast iron skillet. The thing is that I tried to bake the first one (a bread) in a Dutch oven, but since that is much deeper getting it out is a bit of an issue. I would loooove to bake these brownies too but I have to get myself one of those pans!

  8. February 28, 2014 1:58 pm

    I do accept as true with all the ideas you hhave introduced
    to your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work.

    Still, thee posts are very short for beginners.
    May you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  9. March 29, 2014 11:55 am

    Link exchange is nothiing else but it is only placing the other person’s
    bloig llink onn your paage at proper place and other person will also do similar for
    you.

Leave a Reply

