Skip to content

Baked potato soup

November 22, 2011

Baked Potato Soup

My kiddos are home for the whole week for Thanksgiving break, and they’re pretty much hungry all the time.  I don’t know how they manage to get through a whole school day without eating every 15 minutes like they do at home.

Homemade soup is always an easy fix when everybody’s home because it can simmer on the stove and everyone can eat when the mood strikes them.  This soup was warm and comforting and definitely very baked potato-ish.  It is the perfect base to pile high with your favorite baked potato fixins’.

{two years ago:  peanut butter popcorn}

Recipe:  Baked Potato Soup

(slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1 head garlic
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 onion, diced
5 to 6 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth, depending on how smooth you want the soup
2 bay leaves
3/4 tsp. kosher salt
2 1/2 pounds russet potatoes, cut into cubes
1/3 cup sour cream
Ground black pepper, to taste

Toppings:  minced chives or scallions, crumbled bacon, sour cream, cheddar cheese, butter

Rinse the head of garlic to remove any outside grit or dirt, and cut the top third off.  Peel off any loose or papery skins.  Squeeze out the garlic from the tip you cut off and mince to add later.

In a Dutch oven, melt the butter over medium heat. Add diced onion and cook until soft and translucent. Add the minced garlic and cook another minute. Add the larger part of the garlic head (whole, not chopped), broth, bay leaves and 3/4 teaspoon salt.  Reduce heat and simmer until garlic is tender when pierced with tip of knife, 30 to 40 minutes.  Add potatoes and continue to simmer, partially covered, until potatoes are tender, about 15 to 20 minutes.

Discard bay leaves.  Remove garlic heads.  Squeeze one or two of the garlic cloves out of the head of garlic and smash them with the side of your knife.  Return the smashed cloves to the pot.  Add sour cream to the soup and cook for another 2 to 3 minutes.  Adjust seasonings, adding more salt and pepper to taste.  Using food processor or immersion blender, pulse soup until it reaches your desired consistency.

Sprinkle soup with baked potato toppings.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 5:10 pm

    Mmm I LOVE Baked Potato Soup. It’s one of my favorites! I keep saying I need to make more soup now that it’s cold outside, so maybe I’ll throw some of this on to warm me up!

  2. November 22, 2011 7:15 pm

    That first photo made me giggle! I love baked potato soup too! So yummy!

  3. November 23, 2011 9:29 am

    Hey I think my gang may like this soup! yay! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Michelle!

  4. November 23, 2011 5:03 pm

    Mmmm baked potato soup is so good. Love the addition of sour cream, and all the baked potato toppings!!!

  5. sumshay permalink
    November 24, 2011 7:56 am

    This sounds good. Is it as good as your other potato soup? I will be enjoying six full days off with my familty. Maybe time to make a slow-cook soup or stew. Well, after I finish with the turkey and all the trimmings!! Hope you have an awesome Thanksgiving!

  6. November 25, 2011 6:51 am

    heart-shaped scallions are so hard to come by. :)

  7. November 25, 2011 3:45 pm

    This initial picture on your post is adorable :) – – I must try this soup …over and over I hear people talking about baked potato soup, but I’ve never had the opportunity to try it. I think this might be the time!!

  8. December 2, 2011 9:44 am

    My mom always gave me chicken soup when I had a could, but the garlic and onions would be good for getting rid of that stuffiness.

Leave a Reply

