Skip to content

S’mores dip

January 4, 2012

S’mores Dip

If you’ve ever longed for a s’more but didn’t have a campfire handy, I’ve found a great solution.  The milk chocolate and marshmallow are right there in a nice little bowl, just waiting to be loaded onto graham crackers.  No fuss, no mosquito bites, and you can eat them sitting on the couch.  Who needs camping?

This is a microwave recipe that serves up a dip in no time, but as it sits, it turns into more of a spread.  Still tasty either way, but I did prefer being able to dip the cracker right in.  I think there’s something to be said for eating it a little warm, while it’s melty and gooey.  Makes it much more s’more-like.  If it’s going to be sitting out at a party, I think a fondue pot warmed by a candle might be the way to go.

{one year ago:  favorites of 2010}
{two years ago:  beef and lentil soup}

Recipe:  S’mores Dip

(found at Tasty Kitchen)

11.5 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips
14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk
7 oz. of marshmallow fluff
graham cracker sticks, for dipping

Combine chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk in a heatproof bowl, and heat in the microwave for 30 seconds.  Stir until melted and smooth.  If needed, microwave for 10 additional second increments until chocolate has completely melted.  Dot the surface of the chocolate mixture with spoonfuls of marshmallow fluff.  Stir marshmallow into chocolate to create a marbled effect.  Serve with graham cracker sticks.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:00 am

    THe kids really liked this! even cold for an after school snack.

  2. January 4, 2012 9:15 am

    Oh my goodness, this is such a great idea! And we can do it all winter long. My kids will love you for this one!

  3. January 4, 2012 9:49 am

    I don’t know if I could make this……….. because I’d eat it all and not share! haha :)

  4. January 5, 2012 5:38 pm

    I can just picture 4 sticky little hands after this yummy treat. Looks like a great party recipe.

  5. January 5, 2012 11:17 pm

    We love s’mores at our house and I never thought about doing it as a dip. That is wicked cool! I can’t wait to try this.

    2 Kids and Tired Cooks

  6. January 7, 2012 3:22 am

    marshmallow fluff may be the greatest invention ever. :)

  7. January 10, 2012 10:17 pm

    Oh wow…. what a great idea!!!! I miss s’mores so much, and this seems like such a wonderful alternative!

  8. January 19, 2012 11:46 pm

    Omg, is this for real?? I love it! I am definitely going to make this, thanks for sharing the recipe!

    I’d also like to extend an invitation to you to join a vibrant community I’m creating for baking bloggers called SWEEThearts, powered by Atomic Reach. Atomic Reach is a social publishing platform connecting bloggers with brands. I think you have really engaging content and this would be a great opportunity to share your published thoughts and delectable recipes with a larger audience.

    Here’s how it works:

    If you choose to join in, we’ll publish the title of your posts and the first few sentences of each article. If readers want to see the full story, they’ll be pushed to your blog or website. The benefits to you are: increased exposure, traffic and a forum to share your thoughts and opinions with a large group of engaged readers.

    Please send me an email if you are interested in contributing or if you have any questions.

    I look forward to you joining the SWEEThearts community!

    Sincerely,

    Summer
    summerluu @ atomicreach dot com

  9. Mary permalink
    March 25, 2012 8:22 pm

    What a cute idea, I look forward to making this!

  10. June 11, 2012 9:28 pm

    I plan on taking to a work staff meeting, and was wondering if I make it the night before, can I refrigerate and then nuke in my work microwave?

  11. Allison W. permalink
    July 12, 2012 1:40 pm

    Hi- just wanted to ask… do you mind if I pin this on pintrest? It looks sooo yummy!

  12. paola permalink
    July 12, 2012 3:19 pm

    Can it be made ahead? like a couple of days? thanks!

  13. Jen permalink
    July 14, 2012 3:06 pm

    This is great kept warm in a small crock pot!

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 19, 2012 7:51 am

    Paola – The dip is best served warm, but if you made it a bit ahead and gently reheated it before serving, I think it would be just fine. Happy dipping!
    ~ Michelle

  15. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 19, 2012 7:51 am

    Allison – I {heart} pinterest, so pin away! Thanks for asking though. :)
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Appetizers/Snack Food by cpieprzyk - Pearltrees
  2. S’Mores Treats Without the Heat
  3. S'mores Galore!

Leave a Reply

